Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Radeonhd + unknown M86

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default Radeonhd + unknown M86

    Hi all,

    My Laptop's [Toshiba A300 (PSA-GCA)] Mobility Radeon HD3650 seems to default to a software renderer:

    glxinfo | grep "renderer string" returns Software Rasterizer.

    Checking var/xorg.0.log shows

    Code:
    (II) RADEONHD(0): Unknown card detected: 0x9591:0x1179:0xFF1E
    lsmod shows both radeon and drm modules loaded:

    HTML Code:
    radeon                373632  1 
    drm                   188512  2 radeon
    How do I enable hardware rendering? Is there something I've missed in the log? System details follow...

    Also, ATM the screen is shifted the right only in radeonhd/ using radeon the screen is aligned properly (laptop is using VGA out to a Dell E228WFP)

    Jaunty AMD64 with 2.6.30-rc8 from http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mainline/

    (Running the original kernel and latestv mesa/radeonhd combo refuses to shut down - stalls at a black terminal screen with a blinking cursor; radeon exhibits same behaviour)

    librdrm2 2009-5-19 2.4.11 from https://launchpad.net/~xorg-edgers/+archive/ppa

    libgl1-mesa-glx 7.6.0~git20090606 from https://launchpad.net/~xorg-edgers/+archive/radeon

    xserver-xorg-radeonhd from https://launchpad.net/~tormodvolden/+archive/ppa

    var/log.Xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/m52430198

    xorg.conf:

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Configured Screen Device"
    	Device	"Mobility Radeon HD 3650"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Virtual	3360 1050
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Mobility Radeon HD 3650"
    	Driver		"radeonhd"
    	Option 		"DRI"
    	Option   "AccelMethod"  "EXA"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode         0666
    EndSection
    Last edited by hmmm; 06-07-2009 at 11:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    There is no way to use 3d now with radeon(hd). That still has to be developed. If you need it, use fglrx, which can be a problem with an unpatched 2.6.30 because ati did not send the needed patch to make it partly compatible with older drivers to linus - even if they had lots of time. 2.6.29 + patched fglrx or 2.6.28 + pure fglrx is the only way to use 3d on your system.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Is 2d acceleration working? - when scrolling in firefox i can see individual frames.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    Maybe you enabled some effects that do not require composite. There is no delay with KDE 3.5 + Iceweasel(Firefox) 3 here with radeon oss driver.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Maybe you enabled some effects that do not require composite. There is no delay with KDE 3.5 + Iceweasel(Firefox) 3 here with radeon oss driver.
    I noticed that switching over to shadowFB resolved that problem.

    What other options/tweaks can I/should I configure in my xorg.conf?

    How do I enable xv acceleration?
    Last edited by hmmm; 06-09-2009 at 10:18 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    If you have DRI and EXA acceleration both enabled you should get Xv automatically (assuming you are running 2.6.30 kernel and a recent copy of radeonhd. What does xvinfo say when you enable DRI & EXA ? If it doesn't say "happy Xv adapters" can you post your X log ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    xvinfo returns (for both EXA and shadowfb):

    Code:
    X-Video Extension version 2.2
    screen #0
     no adaptors present

    xorg log (shadowfb) - http://pastebin.com/f7069f4e6
    xorg log (exa) - http://pastebin.com/m2cdbb00
    Last edited by hmmm; 06-10-2009 at 01:01 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    OK, looks like the radeonhd driver wasn't able to open the drm driver, so all acceleration is disabled. That's why scrolling is slow with EXA selected -- you're not getting EXA and you're not getting shadowfb either.

    Maybe you're getting an older drm rather than the one from 2.6.30...

    Can you please pastebin your dmesg output when running EXA ?
    Last edited by bridgman; 06-10-2009 at 01:21 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    /var/log/dmesg.0: http://pastebin.com/m32556d1

    typing in dmseg : http://pastebin.com/m39309486
    Last edited by hmmm; 06-10-2009 at 01:32 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    I think the newer drm module failed to build:

    when running "sudo module-assistant auto-install drm-modules" I get:

    partial buldlog: http://pastebin.com/m2eac1024
    Last edited by hmmm; 06-10-2009 at 01:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •