Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Why does Phoronix use Ubuntu for Benchmarking ?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    102

    Question Why does Phoronix use Ubuntu for Benchmarking ?

    I see every phoronix hardware review using Ubuntu. Often there are issues like the latest version of ubuntu NOT having the latest version of the linux kernel and phoronix using alpha or beta releases of future versions of ubuntu, which may give wrong results because of buggy software.

    Why can't you guys use a Rolling Release distro or a distro with instant updates to the latest stable bleeding edge software like Gentoo or ArchLinux ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Because (A) the majority of linux-users use Ubuntu, so benchmarking on/with Ubuntu reflects the experience of most users and more importantly because (B) Michael is an Ubuntu-fanboy. :P

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhick View Post
    Because (A) the majority of linux-users use Ubuntu
    Ubuntu may be the most popular but it's not what a majority of linux users use. A majority implies more then half of all linux users would be using ubuntu which is not the case at all.

    Here is a interesting little break down of the various distro's popularity.

    http://royal.pingdom.com/2008/08/21/...oss-the-globe/
    Last edited by deanjo; 06-21-2009 at 05:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    102

    Default

    and those who care for performance are often also those who use extreme distros like gentoo and arch.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Serbia
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Gentoo had the fastest boot times but as a matter of speed - every linux distro can be fast as the other if set propperly, some feature can be slower (packet management etc) then the other.

    Phoronix perform their benchmark on Ubuntu, ok, I don't have anything against ubuntu, I've used it for two years, but when an article comes up stating that on 2.6.31 kernel with 2.8.0 intel drivers are slower and 100% unstable then the 2.6.30 and 2.7.0 then u got to ask yourself: is testing a feature on early alpha a smart move?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,791

    Default

    And (C) Gentoo can be much slower than Ubuntu if you don't know how to set it up properly (Gentoo is, and tries to be only as smart as the person sitting in front of the keyboard.)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    You would have to try pretty hard to make Gentoo slow, it's not easy to mess up an installation if you can follow instructions when needed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,726

    Default

    Phoronix should use a distri using KDE. Since the majority uses it.

    Since kubuntu's kde is utterly broken, SLACKWARE or opensuse would be a good choice.

    In fact, Slackware would be the best choice, because there are no patches that can screw up the results. Mean, lean, unpatched.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,132

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    Phoronix should use a distri using KDE. Since the majority uses it.

    Since kubuntu's kde is utterly broken, SLACKWARE or opensuse would be a good choice.

    In fact, Slackware would be the best choice, because there are no patches that can screw up the results. Mean, lean, unpatched.
    I have used Slackware some years ago, but like to try it out again. Is there anywhere a howto that helps with the first steps with Slackware? Can you set up slackware-current directly or do you have to use the release first? Do you still need to install slapt-get for good package management? Is there any special configuration needed like adding the user to specific groups like with Arch? Thank you

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NCD - Ireland
    Posts
    17

    Default

    This might help you out.

    http://www.slackware.com/install/


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •