Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RadeonHD 3650 AGP on Arch Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    61

    Question RadeonHD 3650 AGP on Arch Linux

    ---n00b help hotline!---

    Hello! I just finished installing and (somewhat) configuring the latest batch of Arch Linux on a primary partition.

    Trouble is, both KDE 4.2 and XFCE 4.6 are slower than frozen molasses at rendering anything, so I know my xorg.conf needs tweaking

    I used "Xorg -configure" as root to generate a sample xorg.conf file after installing X, and this is what it produced:

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "X.org Configured"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "record"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "dri2"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize 320 240 # mm
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "GWY"
    ModelName "8b1b"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    ### Available Driver options are:-
    ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
    ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
    ### [arg]: arg optional
    #Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
    #Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
    #Option "Dac6Bit" # [<bool>]
    #Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
    #Option "BusType" # [<str>]
    #Option "CPPIOMode" # [<bool>]
    #Option "CPusecTimeout" # <i>
    #Option "AGPMode" # <i>
    #Option "AGPFastWrite" # [<bool>]
    #Option "AGPSize" # <i>
    #Option "GARTSize" # <i>
    #Option "RingSize" # <i>
    #Option "BufferSize" # <i>
    #Option "EnableDepthMoves" # [<bool>]
    #Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
    #Option "NoBackBuffer" # [<bool>]
    #Option "DMAForXv" # [<bool>]
    #Option "FBTexPercent" # <i>
    #Option "DepthBits" # <i>
    #Option "PCIAPERSize" # <i>
    #Option "AccelDFS" # [<bool>]
    #Option "IgnoreEDID" # [<bool>]
    #Option "DisplayPriority" # [<str>]
    #Option "PanelSize" # [<str>]
    #Option "ForceMinDotClock" # <freq>
    #Option "ColorTiling" # [<bool>]
    #Option "VideoKey" # <i>
    #Option "RageTheatreCrystal" # <i>
    #Option "RageTheatreTunerPort" # <i>
    #Option "RageTheatreCompositePort" # <i>
    #Option "RageTheatreSVideoPort" # <i>
    #Option "TunerType" # <i>
    #Option "RageTheatreMicrocPath" # <str>
    #Option "RageTheatreMicrocType" # <str>
    #Option "ScalerWidth" # <i>
    #Option "RenderAccel" # [<bool>]
    #Option "SubPixelOrder" # [<str>]
    #Option "ShowCache" # [<bool>]
    #Option "DynamicClocks" # [<bool>]
    #Option "VGAAccess" # [<bool>]
    #Option "ReverseDDC" # [<bool>]
    #Option "LVDSProbePLL" # [<bool>]
    #Option "AccelMethod" # <str>
    #Option "DRI" # [<bool>]
    #Option "ConnectorTable" # <str>
    #Option "DefaultConnectorTable" # [<bool>]
    #Option "DefaultTMDSPLL" # [<bool>]
    #Option "TVDACLoadDetect" # [<bool>]
    #Option "ForceTVOut" # [<bool>]
    #Option "TVStandard" # <str>
    #Option "IgnoreLidStatus" # [<bool>]
    #Option "DefaultTVDACAdj" # [<bool>]
    #Option "Int10" # [<bool>]
    #Option "EXAVSync" # [<bool>]
    #Option "ATOMTVOut" # [<bool>]
    #Option "R4xxATOM" # [<bool>]
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "radeon"
    VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName "RV635 PRO AGP [Radeon HD 3650]"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    There are a lot of options under the "Device" section! Basically, all I'm interested in is full-speed EXA and Xv acceleration and decent powersaving. What would be my best course of action?

    I'm running Arch Linux with AMD64 kernel 2.6.30, xorg 1.6.2 RC1, and xf86-video-ati 6.12.2-2

    EDIT: If needed, here's a pastebin of my most recent Xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/f22ffef7b
    Last edited by Darkfire Fox; 06-25-2009 at 09:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    208

    Default

    Code:
    (EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
    That probably says it all. Can you get by with the proprietary drivers (fglrx)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    61

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by forum1793 View Post
    Code:
    (EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
    That probably says it all. Can you get by with the proprietary drivers (fglrx)?
    Fglrx!?

    I FORBID IT !!!

    Next idea!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    I didn't see anything obviously wrong in your xorg log. Are the textured video ports showing up when you run xvinfo ?

    It seems to take a bit of careful negotiation to get KDE to use XREender for compositing (rather than GL); are you pretty sure that it is really using XRender ?

    I thought XFCE only used XRender but I haven't looked at it for a while...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I didn't see anything obviously wrong in your xorg log. Are the textured video ports showing up when you run xvinfo ?

    It seems to take a bit of careful negotiation to get KDE to use XREender for compositing (rather than GL); are you pretty sure that it is really using XRender ?

    I thought XFCE only used XRender but I haven't looked at it for a while...
    Erm, I think we're on two different pages, Bridgman. I haven't tried any form of compositing yet. I was simply saying that my Arch desktops are unbearably slow at drawing anything. But my Ubuntu partition is pretty snappy.

    This is why I'm asking about my xorg.conf file and the "Device" options. Do I need to manually activate EXA/DRI?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    Sorry; most of the time I hear XFCE mentioned the users have compositing and eye candy turned on. Naturally I assumed...

    Your log seems to indicate that acceleration is working OK :

    (II) EXA(0): Driver registered support for the following operations:
    (II) Solid
    (II) Copy
    (II) Composite (RENDER acceleration)
    (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration enabled
    It might be worth turning on compositing; once the first round of performance optimizations were made you didn't *have* to enable compositing to get decent 2D performance but my recollection was that it did help on some OSes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    61

    Lightbulb

    Update: I just now manually edited xorg.conf

    Option "AccelMethod" "EXA"
    Option "DRI" "True"

    XFCE 4.6 on Arch Linux now draws like lightning. I'll test more stuff tomorrow. Good night.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    Interesting... I wouldn't have expected those settings to make a difference, since they are the default values and the log seemed to indicate everything was hooked up and running already. Maybe something AGP-related ?

    Anyways, glad it's working for you... and now we have a nice little puzzle for agd5f
    Last edited by bridgman; 06-26-2009 at 05:54 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •