Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: KDE 4.3.0 RC2 Brings Fewer Changes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,354

    Default KDE 4.3.0 RC2 Brings Fewer Changes

    Phoronix: KDE 4.3.0 RC2 Brings Fewer Changes

    Just a week after the release of the KDE 4.3 release candidate, a second release candidate has emerged from the Gran Canaria Desktop Summit. KDE 4.3 Release Candidate 2 incorporates fewer changes than earlier development releases, as development winds down for the final release of KDE 4.3.0 later this month. The KDE 4.3.0 RC2 announcement can be read at KDE.org...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzM3Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    I've built it, installed it. It still sucks, and there are no performance improvements.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    60

    Default

    If you dont have GPU accelerated desktop you will never see performance improvements, if you do, it is faster than gnome/gtk.

    And just trolling wont help, what does "suck"?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elv13 View Post
    If you dont have GPU accelerated desktop you will never see performance improvements
    Of course I do, did you expect me to use QT on fbdev without Xorg? The quality of code sucks, it is ("mind-bogglingly slow") with huge footprint.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    60

    Default

    I use Qt on xfbdev (on netbook) and I get 4 time more FPS than GTK apps because Qt can redraw only part of the windows and instead of the whole screen like Gtk. Clutter can do that, but can't work on fbdev (but nobody care about fbdev anyway).

    You just have to use xfbdev instead of fbdev (the port to fbdev is dead), it will load as fast, use as much memory and Qt will be 4 time faster than GTK.

    But about the speed, just enable GPU windows drawing, if it is slower than gnome, then it is your fault, not KDE. If you talk about resize speed, it is because KDE3 and Gnome use an hack to send more redraw event to windows, Qt4 does not support the hack (but 4.6 will) making it seem slower, while it is only because the WM send less request.

    Qt code quality is exelent, Object oriented code is cleaner than C (it is almost the only good point I can find to OOP). GTK/GnomeLib use some object oriented C, it is messy and hacky. Qt is not a UI toolkit, it is a programming framework with almost every feature you can expect from one.
    Last edited by Elv13; 07-09-2009 at 10:19 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elv13 View Post
    I use Qt on xfbdev (on netbook) and I get 4 time more FPS than GTK apps because Qt can redraw only part of the windows and instead of the whole screen like Gtk.

    You just have to use xfbdev instead of fbdev (the port to fbdev is dead), it will load as fast, use as much memory and Qt will be 4 time faster than GTK. Try by yourself.

    But about the speed, just enable GPU windows drawing, if it is slower than gnome, then it is your fault, not KDE. If you talk about resize speed, it is because KDE3 and Gnome use an hack to send more redraw event to windows, Qt4 does not support the hack (but 4.6 will) making it seem slower, while it is only because the WM send less request.
    Neat, I will try it ASAP .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    116

    Default

    I just pulled the packages in from the Kubuntu backports. It seems the plasma segfault is gone. Now I can finally move to kde 4.3 (from gnome)

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hax0r View Post
    I've built it, installed it. It still sucks, and there are no performance improvements.
    If I remember you own a nVidia card. There are some hacks on their unofficial forum to improve performance. Some time ago using vesa KDE 4 was smoother then using their drivers, so low performance can be nVidia fault.
    Last edited by kraftman; 07-12-2009 at 01:54 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kraftman View Post
    If I remember you own a nVidia card. There are some hacks on their unofficial forum to improve performance. Some time ago using vesa KDE 4 was smoother then using their drivers, so low performance can be nVidia fault.
    Not anymore. If you are using driver 180.xx or later, especially with GeForce 8 class hardware or higher, performance has improved drastically.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default

    Plasma is still locking up on me

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •