Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 101

Thread: Open-Source ATI R600/700 3D Driver Almost Working

  1. #81
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Is there an easy way to monitor how many PCI-E lanes are being used? That way once KMS and everything are in and we get more power saving options it'd be interesting to see how it scales (and verify that it's working).

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vash63 View Post
    Is there an easy way to monitor how many PCI-E lanes are being used? That way once KMS and everything are in and we get more power saving options it'd be interesting to see how it scales (and verify that it's working).
    The driver can set however many it wants to use. The current code sets the number of lanes to 1 when the displays blank when the DynamicPM option is enabled and 4 when ForceLowPowerMode is enabled. The default is 16. The tricky part will be figuring out how the PCIE lane stuff should work on multi-gpu cards.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Is there a command I can use to print the currently active number of lanes? Just kinda curious.

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,566

    Default

    I think agd5f created a patch which would indicate power state (and pcie lane) changes in your xorg log. It's not standard code because it's not considered nice to write an infinite number of lines to the log under normal conditions

  5. #85
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Cool, I'll check the gitweb if it's in there.

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,566

    Default

    It won't be AFAIK, I think he posted it here. Check the original power management thread from a couple of months ago.

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    @bridgman and agd5f
    When disabling the function call to change number of active pcie lanes, within the ForceLowPowerMode function in radeon_pm.c, everything works fine.
    I can suspend, reboot, shutdown and there aren't any corruptions whatsoever.

    EDIT:
    Thats with ForceLowPowerMode enabled btw.

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tball View Post
    @bridgman and agd5f
    When disabling the function call to change number of active pcie lanes, within the ForceLowPowerMode function in radeon_pm.c, everything works fine.
    I can suspend, reboot, shutdown and there aren't any corruptions whatsoever.

    EDIT:
    Thats with ForceLowPowerMode enabled btw.
    Fix already pushed:
    http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/dri...050c87ca30582a

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vash63 View Post
    Is there a command I can use to print the currently active number of lanes? Just kinda curious.
    Add this line:
    ErrorF("Setting PCIE lanes to %d\n", lanes);

    to RADEONSetPCIELanes() in radeon.pm.c and it will print the number of lanes every time the driver changes it.

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    But my system isn't a multigpu system? The fix only seem to relate those with a multigpu card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •