Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: I'm about to go out and get a 780G, what can I expect?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    Okay... so after 3 weeks of waiting for the mobo to be delivered, and a few days of procrastinating, I just got X working with the radeon (git) driver. It needed a bit of poking to stop locking up randomly, but wow... it was worth it for the difference in 2D speed alone.

    Now I just need to get alsa to behave itself. Is the HDMI audio thing even usable through a DVI port?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ant P. View Post
    ow I just need to get alsa to behave itself. Is the HDMI audio thing even usable through a DVI port?
    Afaik it should work at least with radeonhd.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I should rephrase that as "does a DVI port have the right electrical connections to carry sound?"

    The comment about misbehaving was that the motherboard's sound chip wasn't showing up in alsa but the graphics card was. I'd messed the kernel config up but it all works now.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,720

    Default

    no
    dvi does not have the connections

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ant P. View Post
    I should rephrase that as "does a DVI port have the right electrical connections to carry sound?"
    DVI has the sufficient wires for HDMI audio and you don't even get sound quality degradation because DVI and HDMI are electically compatible so conversion isn't required. If you have a DVI port in your graphics card and your card supports HDMI audio, it should be able to output it through the DVI port. It does require HDMI support on the other end too though.
    Last edited by nanonyme; 08-14-2009 at 10:33 PM.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I had it connected to my TV with an adapter while I was installing stuff but never thought to test the sound. Right now I'm just using my old monitor + headphones, but I'll have to try that when I get some spare time...

    Also I just found out UT2004 in 64-bit mode doesn't support software rendering. Guess I'll have to wait a while...

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ant P. View Post
    Also I just found out UT2004 in 64-bit mode doesn't support software rendering. Guess I'll have to wait a while...
    It doesn't run with software rasterizer? Now, that's odd. It's a fine and capable driver usually, albeit slow. That was a bit unexpected. Anyway, you're right though, the r600 Mesa driver still has one big issue (as in, geometric corruption; probably covering an armada of smaller issues). Will take a while for it to mature...

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    It doesn't run with software rasterizer? Now, that's odd. It's a fine and capable driver usually, albeit slow. That was a bit unexpected. Anyway, you're right though, the r600 Mesa driver still has one big issue (as in, geometric corruption; probably covering an armada of smaller issues). Will take a while for it to mature...
    I believe the poster was talking about the built in SDL software renderer that ut2004 comes with, not the mesa software rasterizer.

    Adam

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I tried it with software mesa already, but it was unusably slow...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •