Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: LG 37LH4000 - resolution and size issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default LG 37LH4000 - resolution and size issue

    Hello everyone,

    first of all, I hope I'm in the right section of the forum. If not, feel free to move this post.

    I would like to use my LCD TV (LG 37LH4000) as a monitor. Here are the specifications found from the manual :

    Resolution : 1920x1080
    Vertical refresh : 59.93
    Horizontal refresh : 66.587

    I generate the xorg.conf file through the aticonfig command like this :
    Code:
    aticonfig --resolution=0,1920x1080
    Moreover, I have to add the appropriate modelines by editing the xorg.conf file. I get the modelines through the gtf command.
    Code:
    # 1920x1080 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 67.08 kHz; pclk: 172.80 MHz
      Modeline "1920x1080_60.00"  172.80  1920 2040 2248 2576  1080 1081 1084 1118  -HSync +Vsync
    Hence, here's the xorg.conf file I get :
    Code:
    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    #   sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "XkbRules" "xorg"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
    	Option	    "XkbLayout" "fr"
    	Option	    "XkbVariant" "latin9"
    	Option	    "XkbOptions" "lv3:ralt_switch"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Configured Mouse"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	ModeLine     "1920x1080_60.00" 172.8 1920 2040 2248 2576 1080 1081 1084 1118 -hsync +vsync
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Default Screen"
    	Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes    "1920x1080_60.00" "1920x1080"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    My problem is the following : I can see my desktop and everything on my TV, but the image size nor the image ratio is good. The image doesn't feed the whole screen at all and I can see the ration isn't good since, for example, circles appears as ovals...

    Does someone have any idea how to fix this please? Thx a lot for your answers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    787

    Default

    - what connection are you using? dvi, hdmi, display port? tv-out?
    - what happens if you don't specify the resolution/modeline in xorg.conf at all? The driver *should* be able to autodetect the correct timings on most modern displays.
    - did you actually set the right resolution? What's the output of 'xrandr' during an x session? Tried 'xrandr -s 1920x1080'?
    - anything interesting in /var/log/Xorg.0.log ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thank you very much for this quick answer.

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    - what connection are you using? dvi, hdmi, display port? tv-out?
    I'm sorry, I realise I did not mention the configuration I'm using.

    Debian testing (squeeze)
    fglrx drivers from Debian testing repository
    ATI Radeon HD 4850

    I'm using a DVI output of my graphic card and the RGB input of my TV.

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    - what happens if you don't specify the resolution/modeline in xorg.conf at all? The driver *should* be able to autodetect the correct timings on most modern displays.
    If I do that, I have a blurry and streched image. The whole screen is used, but the resolution used is 1600x1200... (weired, since my TV is of course a 16:9...)

    According to the /var/log/xorg.0.log file, the driver fails to get EDID informations :

    Code:
    (II) fglrx(0): ***Display: ConnectedDisplayTypes=0x00000010, disabled=0x00000000
    (II) fglrx(0):  Display1: No EDID information from DDC.
    (II) fglrx(0):  Display1: Failed to get EDID information.
    (II) fglrx(0): Primary Controller - CRT on secondary DAC
    II) fglrx(0): Internal Desktop Setting: 0x00000008
    (==) fglrx(0): QBS disabled
    (==) fglrx(0): FAST_SWAP disabled
    (==) fglrx(0):  PseudoColor visuals disabled
    (**) fglrx(0): Center Mode is enabled 
    (==) fglrx(0): TMDS coherent mode is enabled 
    (II) fglrx(0): Total of 27 modes found for primary display.
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1600x1200 (pitch 0)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1600x1200": 162.0 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 75.0 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1600x1200"x60.0  162.00  1600 1664 1856 2160  1200 1201 1204 1250 (75.0 kHz)
    Moreover, in that case, the xrandr -s 1920x1080 --verbose command gives Size 1920x11080 not found in available modes.

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    - did you actually set the right resolution? What's the output of 'xrandr' during an x session? Tried 'xrandr -s 1920x1080'?
    - anything interesting in /var/log/Xorg.0.log ?
    If I use the xorg.conf file I put on my original post, here's the result of the xrandr -s 1920x1080 --verbose command
    Code:
    xrandr -s 1920x1080 --verbose
     SZ:    Pixels          Physical       Refresh
    *0   1920 x 1080   ( 508mm x 286mm )  *60  
     1   1440 x 900    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     2   1400 x 1050   ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     3   1280 x 1024   ( 508mm x 286mm )   60   47   43  
     4   1280 x 960    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     5   1280 x 768    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     6   1280 x 720    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60   50  
     7   1152 x 864    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60   47   43  
     8   1024 x 768    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60   43  
     9    800 x 600    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60   56   47  
     10   720 x 576    ( 508mm x 286mm )   50  
     11   720 x 480    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     12   640 x 480    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     13   640 x 432    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     14   640 x 400    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     15   512 x 384    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     16   400 x 300    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     17   320 x 240    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
     18   320 x 200    ( 508mm x 286mm )   60  
    Current rotation - normal
    Current reflection - none
    Rotations possible - normal 
    Reflections possible - none
    Setting size to 0, rotation to normal
    Setting reflection on neither axis
    And here's what I get from the log file :
    Code:
    II) fglrx(0): Connected Display1: CRT on secondary DAC [crt2]
    (II) fglrx(0):  Display1: No EDID information from DDC.
    (II) fglrx(0):  Display1: Failed to get EDID information. 
    (II) fglrx(0): Primary Controller - CRT on secondary DAC
    (II) fglrx(0): Internal Desktop Setting: 0x00000008
    (==) fglrx(0): QBS disabled
    (==) fglrx(0): FAST_SWAP disabled
    (==) fglrx(0):  PseudoColor visuals disabled
    (**) fglrx(0): Center Mode is enabled 
    (==) fglrx(0): TMDS coherent mode is enabled 
    (II) fglrx(0): Total of 28 modes found for primary display.
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1920x1080 (pitch 0)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1920x1080_60.00": 172.8 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 67.1 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1920x1080_60.00"x60.0  172.80  1920 2040 2248 2576  1080 1081 1084 1118 +vsync (67.1 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1920x1080": 172.8 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 67.1 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x60.0  172.80  1920 2040 2248 2576  1080 1081 1084 1118 +vsync (67.1 kHz)
    Is there anything you can see from those logs I haven't noticed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nevo View Post
    I'm using a DVI output of my graphic card and the RGB input of my TV.
    there's your problem.

    The DVI output carries both a digital and an analog signal identical to the one on your VGA output.

    The RGB input receives an analog signal. Not sure what "magic" you applied to connect those two, but the results can't be good. First of all, DDC doesn't work over the RGB input, so you'll have to specify the timings manually. But even if you get that right, a high-bandwidth-resolution like 1920x1080p@60Hz over ANY analog connection will be ugly, no matter what. (I had a 24" 1920x1200 monitor connected to a laptop via VGA for a time. It was blurry and flickered and was almost impossible to work with.)


    My advice: get a DVI->HDMI cable, or a DVI->HDMI converter and a HDMI cable (DVI and HDMI carry the same digital signal and are electrically compatible). Make sure the cable is marked as "High-Speed", otherwise it won't support 1080p.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    Not sure what "magic" you applied to connect those two, but the results can't be good.
    Hmmm, well, I don't have any VGA output on my graphic card, only 2 DVI outputs, so I'm using a DVI->RGB converter (supplied with the graphic card) and a regular VGA cable, just as I do with my computer monitor (Samsung Syncmaster 913N).

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    First of all, DDC doesn't work over the RGB input, so you'll have to specify the timings manually.
    Really?
    Here's my xorg log when I use the Syncmaster :
    Code:
    II) fglrx(0): ***Display: ConnectedDisplayTypes=0x00000001, disabled=0x00000000
    (II) fglrx(0): Connected Display1: CRT on primary DAC [crt1]
    (II) fglrx(0): Display1 EDID data ---------------------------
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer: SAM  Model: 11f  Serial#: 1296707897
    (II) fglrx(0): Year: 2005  Week: 35
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) fglrx(0): Analog Display Input,  Input Voltage Level: 0.700/0.700 V
    (II) fglrx(0): Sync:  Separate  Composite
    (II) fglrx(0): Max H-Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 38  vert.: 30
    (II) fglrx(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) fglrx(0): DPMS capabilities: Off; RGB/Color Display
    (II) fglrx(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) fglrx(0): redX: 0.634 redY: 0.354   greenX: 0.304 greenY: 0.581
    (II) fglrx(0): blueX: 0.143 blueY: 0.102   whiteX: 0.310 whiteY: 0.330
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): 720x400@70Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@67Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@72Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@56Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@72Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 832x624@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@70Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1280x1024@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1152x870@75Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported Future Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): #0: hsize: 1280  vsize 1024  refresh: 60  vid: 32897
    (II) fglrx(0): #1: hsize: 1152  vsize 864  refresh: 75  vid: 20337
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 108.0 MHz   Image Size:  376 x 301 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1280  h_sync: 1328  h_sync_end 1440 h_blank_end 1688 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 1024  v_sync: 1025  v_sync_end 1028 v_blanking: 1066 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Ranges: V min: 56  V max: 75 Hz, H min: 30  H max: 81 kHz, PixClock max 140 MHz
    (II) fglrx(0): Monitor name: SyncMaster
    (II) fglrx(0): Serial No: HVFY807105
    It seems to work. Maybe it's just about the TV?


    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    But even if you get that right, a high-bandwidth-resolution like 1920x1080p@60Hz over ANY analog connection will be ugly, no matter what. (I had a 24" 1920x1200 monitor connected to a laptop via VGA for a time. It was blurry and flickered and was almost impossible to work with.)


    My advice: get a DVI->HDMI cable, or a DVI->HDMI converter and a HDMI cable (DVI and HDMI carry the same digital signal and are electrically compatible). Make sure the cable is marked as "High-Speed", otherwise it won't support 1080p.
    Ok, well, I'll try that then.
    Thank you very much for the help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    787

    Default

    DDC works with VGA connections (most of the time), but not with any other analog connection. Maybe we're talking about different connectors when saying "RGB"?

    in any case, 1080p should be transfered over digital links.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    DDC works with VGA connections (most of the time), but not with any other analog connection. Maybe we're talking about different connectors when saying "RGB"?
    Hehe, indeed.

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    in any case, 1080p should be transfered over digital links.
    I go buy that tomorrow

    Thank you very much for the help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    [QUOTE=rohcQaH;82224]DDC works with VGA connections (most of the time), but not with any other analog connection./QUOTE]

    Hi there,

    you were totally right. I bought a DVI->HDMI cable and now EDID informations appears in the /var/log/Xorg.0.log file.


    Code:
    (II) fglrx(0): Connected Display1: DFP on secondary TMDS [tmds2i]
    (II) fglrx(0): Display1 EDID data ---------------------------
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer: GSM  Model: 1  Serial#: 16843009
    (II) fglrx(0): Year: 2009  Week: 4
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) fglrx(0): Digital Display Input
    (II) fglrx(0): Max H-Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 115  vert.: 65
    (II) fglrx(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) fglrx(0): No DPMS capabilities specified; RGB/Color Display
    (II) fglrx(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) fglrx(0): redX: 0.640 redY: 0.340   greenX: 0.300 greenY: 0.690
    (II) fglrx(0): blueX: 0.138 blueY: 0.038   whiteX: 0.282 whiteY: 0.297
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): 720x400@70Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported Future Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): #0: hsize: 1280  vsize 1024  refresh: 60  vid: 32897
    (II) fglrx(0): #1: hsize: 1024  vsize 768  refresh: 60  vid: 16481
    (II) fglrx(0): #2: hsize: 800  vsize 600  refresh: 60  vid: 16453
    (II) fglrx(0): #3: hsize: 640  vsize 480  refresh: 60  vid: 16433
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 148.5 MHz   Image Size:  1150 x 650 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1920  h_sync: 2008  h_sync_end 2052 h_blank_end 2200 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 1080  v_sync: 1084  v_sync_end 1089 v_blanking: 1125 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 74.2 MHz   Image Size:  1150 x 650 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1280  h_sync: 1390  h_sync_end 1430 h_blank_end 1650 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 720  v_sync: 725  v_sync_end 730 v_blanking: 750 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Ranges: V min: 58  V max: 62 Hz, H min: 30  H max: 83 kHz, PixClock max 160 MHz
    (II) fglrx(0): Monitor name: LG TV
    (II) fglrx(0): Number of EDID sections to follow: 1
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID (in hex):
    (II) fglrx(0): 	00ffffffffffff001e6d010001010101
    (II) fglrx(0): 	04130103807341780acf74a3574cb023
    (II) fglrx(0): 	09484ca1080081806140454031400101
    (II) fglrx(0): 	010101010101023a801871382d40582c
    (II) fglrx(0): 	45007e8a4200001e011d007251d01e20
    (II) fglrx(0): 	6e2855007e8a4200001e000000fd003a
    (II) fglrx(0): 	3e1e5310000a202020202020000000fc
    (II) fglrx(0): 	004c472054560a202020202020200102
    (II) fglrx(0): End of Display1 EDID data --------------------
    (II) fglrx(0): Primary Controller - DFP on secondary TMDS
    (II) fglrx(0): Internal Desktop Setting: 0x00000008
    (==) fglrx(0): QBS disabled
    (==) fglrx(0): FAST_SWAP disabled
    (==) fglrx(0):  PseudoColor visuals disabled
    (**) fglrx(0): Center Mode is enabled 
    (==) fglrx(0): TMDS coherent mode is enabled 
    (II) fglrx(0): Total of 28 modes found for primary display.
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1920x1080 (pitch 0)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1920x1080_60": 148.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 67.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1920x1080_60"x60.0  148.50  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (67.5 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1920x1080_60": 148.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 56.2 kHz, 50.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1920x1080_60"x50.0  148.50  1920 2448 2492 2640  1080 1084 1089 1125 (56.2 kHz)
    Unfortunaly, even if the resoltuion seems to be 1920x1080, the image I get is not centered :-( It's I don't see the right size nor the bottom.
    Morevover, on the /var/log/Xorg.0.log file, there no "+/-hsync +/-vsync" at the enf of the "Modelines" line.

    What should I do to get the image to fit with my screen?

    Thx a lot.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Ok, I solved the problem by using the aticong --lcd-mode=full commad.

    thx a lot for the help ppl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Hello ppl,

    I'm sorry, it's me again :-(

    Actually, my problem isn't solve...

    The image I get now is still a little bit smaller than my screen, which makes it a little bit blurry...

    I don't know what to do anymore :-(

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •