Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 131

Thread: Compiz Running With Mesa On R600/700 GPUs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,101

    Default Compiz Running With Mesa On R600/700 GPUs

    Phoronix: Compiz Running With Mesa On R600/700 GPUs

    Just about three weeks ago the AMD developers working on the open-source ATI drivers had reached the milestone in their open-source 3D support for the R600/700 GPUs of having glxgears running on these two latest generations of ATI graphics processors. glxgears running itself isn't much, but it's an important step...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzQyNg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    That's interesting, is there a live image with that mesa+drm code already?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default yiiiiiipeeeeaaaaeeee :-)

    Thanks a lot 2 years ago i read abaut amd starts support opensource drivers..

    in the last 2 years i buy only for me a x800,3850,4350,4670 and Pushes my nvidia 7900gt,6600,8600 out ! never ever Nvidia!

    and my clients follow my words to so they buy lot of hd3200 IGP and so on.

    GO AMD GO!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    833

    Default

    This is indeed excellent news, my next mobo will have an AMD IGP for sure
    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    That's interesting, is there a live image with that mesa+drm code already?
    There is little point in providing live images of some development code snapshot. And besides, if you use a proper distro, then upgrading to latest mesa and drm from git is just two commands away (and I am not referring to the commands mentioned here)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Great news indeed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,669

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    This is indeed excellent news, my next mobo will have an AMD IGP for sure
    That's funny. IGP has mostly been the only thing I've heard people having good performance with the current memcpy buffer swaps...
    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    There is little point in providing live images of some development code snapshot. And besides, if you use a proper distro, then upgrading to latest mesa and drm from git is just two commands away
    Very true. Even if it was more than two commands though (as it is in my case, I wouldn't be installing from ebuilds even if I was using Gentoo since I like to know exactly what I'm doing), I'd still be rather be installing to hard disk than using LiveCD's.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    There is little point in providing live images of some development code snapshot.
    Kororaa did exactly that with the first AIGLX code and compiz, I don't see why someone couldn't do the same for R600 now...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,155

    Default

    Seriously? I didn't expect Compiz support before Mesa 7.7 and didn't expect Mesa 7.6 before November/December. Would be amazing to have it in the October-distribution-refreshes. Out of the box simple 3D for *all* AMD cards, remember!

    Great work, devs!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Great! Things are progressing faster than I imagined.

    I doubt the 3d code for R600/700 will be stable enough for the October round of releases, but the distros might decide to enable it by default at this pace.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    There is little point in providing live images of some development code snapshot. And besides, if you use a proper distro, then upgrading to latest mesa and drm from git is just two commands away (and I am not referring to the commands mentioned here)
    I think the idea is to have a simple way to test the new code without risking your current installation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •