Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: HDMI audio support for RV730 in radeon/radeonhd?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    I've got a set of patches on top of Christian's to clean up and document the registers and bits. Might also fix rv730, but I don't have an hdmi sink to test with at the moment. As soon as the patches are approved, I'll post them to the ML.
    agd5f: You mentioned your patches again in the #radeonhd IRC channel the other night - any idea when they will get approved, or if can I get hold of them before to test on RV730 / HDMI audio?

    Thanks,

    Andrew

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,272

    Default

    I'll check on their status today.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Have there been any recent developments with this?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Yes - Christian Konig got it fixed just before Christmas, and it was commited to radeonhd git master at end of December. Not sure if it has made it into any distro packages yet. Works great on my HD 4670!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyW View Post
    Yes - Christian Konig got it fixed just before Christmas, and it was commited to radeonhd git master at end of December. Not sure if it has made it into any distro packages yet. Works great on my HD 4670!
    My 4350 won't take it. I've got the two xorg.conf lines in there, aplay -l clearly shows it, MPlayer acts like everything is okay, I'm using 48 KHz sound with 16-bits per sample, alsamixer says it's unmuted...BUT NO SOUND!!!

    I think I'll just wait for KMS to support it. That sounds like a much easier approach anyway.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    @AndyW can you post your xorg.conf.

    No sound on my HD 4650 on gentoo with radeonhd from git.

    Thanks

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Here it is: http://pastebin.com/j5CVRwiK

    Pretty much the only place you need to check for HDMI audio settings is in Section "Device", and there I think it is only
    Code:
    	Option	    "Audio" "on"
    that is required.

    Can you give more info on what you have done & what the problem is?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    First, sorry for my English but I'm French.

    I add in my xorg.conf your setting but no sound.

    HDMI audio is working fine with ati-drivers.

    I've update radeonhd fron git wich support my chipset RV730.

    Here is my xorg.conf

    http://pastebin.com/K6DMhZib

    Here is var/log/Xorg.0.log

    http://pastebin.com/P8D8ux3z

    aplay -l

    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    If I run aplay -D plughw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

    Code:
    Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono
    But no sound

    I don't see any error message and I don't find what is wrong.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    First sorry for my English but I am French

    I have installed radeonhd from git wich support my chipset RV730
    My card is working with ati-drivers.

    I have put in my xorg.conf your settings.

    Here is my xorg.conf

    http://pastebin.com/hw9wGSCg

    Here is my Xorg.log

    http://pastebin.com/LvXqLyH2

    My aplay -l

    card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: HDA Generic [HDA Generic]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: ATI HDMI [ATI HDMI]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

    When I try
    aplay -D plughw:1,3 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav
    I have
    Playing WAVE '/usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 48000 Hz, Mono
    But no sound

    I have no error so I don't know where to search.

    Thanks

    P.S: Sorry if double post but I don't find my first message

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •