Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 94

Thread: Quake Live Now Available To Linux Gamers

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Remco View Post
    I still get the "Sorry, you're not supported" message. I'm using the non-branded Firefox 3.5 build (called Shiretoko).
    Excuse me as i turn on my L33F3R ipod on or mount my L33F3R hard disk.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    200

    Default

    If someone has problems with cracking sound, try here. First workaround works here on ubuntu amd64.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L33F3R View Post
    Excuse me as i turn on my L33F3R ipod on or mount my L33F3R hard disk.
    Well, I didn't do anything to get an unbranded Firefox. That's just what Ubuntu provides me with if I choose to use Firefox 3.5 as opposed to 3.0. If I'd use Konqueror, Epiphany, or Opera, or the new breed of WebKit browsers -- Arora, Midori, then I would have the same problem.

    Funny though that you mention the iPod. Newer iPods and the iPhone have an encrypted USB connection, which means you can only use it with programs that Apple specifically allows (iTunes only, so no Linux). Sound familiar?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Remco View Post
    Funny though that you mention the iPod. Newer iPods and the iPhone have an encrypted USB connection, which means you can only use it with programs that Apple specifically allows (iTunes only, so no Linux). Sound familiar?
    what are you giving me this trip for? I cracked a joke and don't plan to go into a philosophical debate. I pity you for taking what I said with any degree of seriousness.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hiding with the fish in Minnesota
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Anyone having crashes when in-game and going to the options then the intermediate options? Its not a big deal but its kinda annoying if you mistakenly click it.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    200

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by #kyz View Post
    Anyone having crashes when in-game and going to the options then the intermediate options? Its not a big deal but its kinda annoying if you mistakenly click it.
    Everyone. Well, almost. It's a known bug on official forum.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Works great! Although I don't get why it's made to work only with firefox, since it's a java app it basically should work with every browser out there which supports java.

    Why make this limitation? There's probably a very good reason why, but still it would be at least good to know why?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,675

    Default

    Look into

    ~/.quakelive/quakelive/home/baseq3/

    there are binary libs (for 32 and 64 bit). Does not look like java.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    browsers change so rapidly it can be hard to cater to all of them. It's easier just to pick the ones that the vast majority of people will use.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L33F3R View Post
    browsers change so rapidly it can be hard to cater to all of them. It's easier just to pick the ones that the vast majority of people will use.
    urgh - do you remember the web 10 years ago!? The Netscape Plugin architecture is a well-known standard and is used by pretty much everything except IE, there's no reason to discriminate between browsers beyond whether they implement it. For support reasons, it'd be much nicer to throw up a message saying "Oh noes, we can't tell what browser you're using. If you have any problems, we recommend trying with Firefox".

    The browser whitelist may be a punkbuster thing though, I wouldn't put it past them to checksum various known binaries.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •