Page 3 of 29 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 290

Thread: r6xx 3D games

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    The Phenom II are monster processors, I'm really enjoying working with mine.

    Anyway, I enjoy playing OpenArena here. I can simply not have enough of the Quake3 gameplay. I hope the remaining bugs get resolved soon, although it seems like there is some black voodoo involved and that the crashes and corruption are really hard to pinpoint.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A Coruņa (Spain)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    Anyway, I enjoy playing OpenArena here. I can simply not have enough of the Quake3 gameplay. I hope the remaining bugs get resolved soon, although it seems like there is some black voodoo involved and that the crashes and corruption are really hard to pinpoint.
    Well, at least in Quake 3 they WERE fixed yesterday. I played 5 levels without problems. But I updated mesa/drm a couple of hours ago and the crashes returned.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    git bisect - and you will hopefully make the developers happy

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A Coruņa (Spain)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    git bisect - and you will hopefully make the developers happy
    Nope, now it works again xD. Maybe it was because I updated without reloading the drm/radeon modules and there was some mismatch.

    (edit) Ooops, here they are again. Weird, some times I can play for hours without any problem; sometimes it crashes in some seconds. I'll see if I can find what triggers the crash.
    Last edited by Fran; 08-22-2009 at 02:53 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    For me, the crash is when finishing the first level on OpenArena. It plays perfectly, but at the moment when I win, it crashes.

    I can play the third level all the way through, and it doesn't crash, even after finishing it.

    Levels 2 and 4 play well, but crash in mid-game after a while.

    This is all with LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1, there is no way to test it in direct mode, as there's not way in hell I can win a level without seeing anything

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Aren't phenom's pretty noisy and power hungry compared to intel ones (perf per watt wise) ? I'm sorry I don't want to start any flame war, I'm just uninformed, but from what I've been told and what I have at home (3800 xp), I'm really suspicious. I always bought AMD, but never managed to have a silent computer (maybe I suck at choosing the hardware).
    Anyway the topic is about games, I'm really eager to test some more.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I got a Phenom II this month and it's been great so far. The stock cooler is quiet enough (most of my noise is from using a cheap case) and it's never gone above 50°C.

    And remember that Intel's quoted TDP wattages are averages, AMD's are maximum values.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    The first Phenoms were supposedly power-hungry, the Phenom II aren't, at least not significantly more than comparable Intel processors, to the best of my knowledge.

    As for games, the devs are working really hard to fix this stuff.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Thx for the corrections.

    I tried democracy 2 with wine. it reached the main menu, but as I didn't want to crash my setup, I left the game before starting a new one. Which crashed X. The game is ok under wine with fglrx, nvidia but garbage with intel.
    i will do it once again, and report the crashes if I can.
    Last edited by lucky_; 08-22-2009 at 05:48 PM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,599

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucky_ View Post
    I tried democracy 2 with wine. it reached the main menu, but as I didn't want to crash my setup, I left the game before starting a new one. Which crashed X. The game is ok under wine with fglrx, nvidia but garbage with intel.
    Intriguing. I just started the same game's demo with Windows and it crashed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •