Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Compiz blur with fglrx

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default Compiz blur with fglrx

    Hi,

    When using the blur plugin in compiz on ubuntu intrepid, the window borders that should be blurred simply turn dark grey. I'm told this is because of the fglrx driver missing something.
    Is there any chance that fglrx will pickup support for this, or is there a known workaround?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Hi,

    I have noticed this too.

    I've been searching for an answer on this question for a long time.

    Here, it doesn't work on the open source (radeon) driver either.

    I think that blurred window borders still are not possible with ATI AMD cards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    Maybe it's just Compiz? A lot of people like to blame everyone else's code except theirs, which makes it really hard to troubleshoot for endusers. The blur effect does nothing on my HD3850 (fglrx) or on a 9800pro (radeon) I have on a spare machine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default

    fglrx doesnt support it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    Maybe it's just Compiz? A lot of people like to blame everyone else's code except theirs, which makes it really hard to troubleshoot for endusers. The blur effect does nothing on my HD3850 (fglrx) or on a 9800pro (radeon) I have on a spare machine.
    (Bumping this because it still doesn't work)
    The Compiz blur effect requires OpenGL 2.0 to work which is not available in radeon, but it should work in fglrx. It actually worked once, but it has been broken for nearly two years now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeoBrain View Post
    (Bumping this because it still doesn't work)
    The Compiz blur effect requires OpenGL 2.0 to work which is not available in radeon, but it should work in fglrx. It actually worked once, but it has been broken for nearly two years now.
    I can confirm this. The Compiz devs changed something and broke the blur plugin around Ubuntu 7.10/8.04. It's been broken ever since.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    I can confirm this. The Compiz devs changed something and broke the blur plugin around Ubuntu 7.10/8.04. It's been broken ever since.
    This was not change in compiz that caused this problem, but a change in fglrx. I don't remember what version of fglrx this breakage happened with, but in one release it worked fine, and in the next it didn't, without any upgrades to compiz at all.

    Adam

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adamk View Post
    This was not change in compiz that caused this problem, but a change in fglrx. I don't remember what version of fglrx this breakage happened with, but in one release it worked fine, and in the next it didn't, without any upgrades to compiz at all.

    Adam
    Could be - I observed the breakage soon after a dist-upgrade, so I don't know if it was caused by a driver or a new compiz version.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    364

    Default

    /bump

    Some people said the blur plugin got fixed in fglrx 9.11. Anyone confirming? For me it doesn't work at all, maybe it needs some special settings to work.

  10. #10

    Default

    Confirm. Blur works with 9.11 driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •