Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 137

Thread: R600/r700 kms + 3d dri1/dri2

  1. #111
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    xorg-edgers for lucid is under construction, please just wait until we open it for general consumption
    OOps! I've been drinking water from that pipe "under construction" for a couple of days already ... Silly me ... Is there a medicine ... ? Please keep the good work, constructing it, on. I'll wait ...

    Give us a wink when the construction is finished.
    Last edited by zika; 11-11-2009 at 02:36 PM.

  2. #112
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    OOps! I've been drinking water from that pipe "under construction" for a couple of days already ... Silly me ... Is there a medicine ... ? Please keep the good work, constructing it, on. I'll wait ...

    Give us a wink when the construction is finished.
    Thanks for your early feedback anyway and for smoketesting the first builds before we got a chance to do it ourselves Spotted a few things there which saved me from some trial and error.

    Thanks to Sarvatt's hard day's night of uploading we can now turn open the firehose again! A normal apt-get dist-upgrade should do the job. Only all the less-used drivers which we haven't bothered to rebuild for 1.8 yet will be removed.

  3. #113
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Thanks for your early feedback anyway and for smoketesting the first builds before we got a chance to do it ourselves Spotted a few things there which saved me from some trial and error.

    Thanks to Sarvatt's hard day's night of uploading we can now turn open the firehose again! A normal apt-get dist-upgrade should do the job. Only all the less-used drivers which we haven't bothered to rebuild for 1.8 yet will be removed.
    I'll try it right now and report if any errors occur.
    Update: It worked! I've got my screen back after reboot (not needed, I just wanted to be sure ...) Thank You!
    Last edited by zika; 11-11-2009 at 03:40 PM.

  4. #114
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Tonight's upgrades of mesa and xorg-xserver-video-ati are great! It almost doubled the speed in KMS and it's fast without it as it was not in near past ... Great!

  5. #115
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    After today's upgrade KMS is as fast as non-KMS (2.6.32-6.8 is running, for the fist time, KMS as a default). Great!

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,927

    Default

    How are you measuring the improvement?

  7. #117
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    How are you measuring the improvement?
    With GtkPerf ...

  8. #118
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Should I worry about:
    Code:
    ~$ dmesg|grep radeon
    [    0.000000] Command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-999-generic root=UUID=2c53f5b7-8d17-47c7-a450-5544c483596e ro radeon.modeset=1
    [    0.000000] Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-999-generic root=UUID=2c53f5b7-8d17-47c7-a450-5544c483596e ro radeon.modeset=1
    [   13.107200] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [   13.107324] radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [   13.109378] [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
    [   13.111962] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
    [   13.111965] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [   13.112028] radeon 0000:01:00.0: irq 28 for MSI/MSI-X
    [   13.112034] [drm] radeon: using MSI.
    [   13.112059] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [   13.112654] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV635_pfp.bin
    [   13.144865] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV635_me.bin
    [   13.158755] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/R600_rlc.bin
    [   13.161712] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"<----------------------this!
    [   13.161729] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff8800b0612e00 unpin not necessary
    [   13.161732] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff8800b0612800 unpin not necessary
    [   13.161735] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff8800b0612e00 unpin not necessary
    [   13.161738] radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff8800b0612e00 unpin not necessary
    [   13.347453] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    [   13.347460] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    ?
    Last edited by zika; 12-12-2009 at 09:46 AM.

  9. #119
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Should I worry about:
    Code:
    [   13.161712] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
    This is the interrupt controller microcode/firmware:
    http://www.mail-archive.com/dri-deve.../msg45005.html
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...item&px=Nzc1MQ
    Last edited by tormod; 12-12-2009 at 11:54 AM.

  10. #120
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tormod View Post
    Thank You very much! Second URL have those file already assembled and I've put them in /lib/firmware/radeon (after creating radeon folder)... Error is now gone ...
    Update:Error is gone but the graphics became very erratic at boot. I removed that folder, got the error again but very stable and fast graphics with 2.6.32-999 is back.
    Last edited by zika; 12-12-2009 at 06:55 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •