Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 311121314 LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 137

Thread: R600/r700 kms + 3d dri1/dri2

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    OOps! I've been drinking water from that pipe "under construction" for a couple of days already ... Silly me ... Is there a medicine ... ? Please keep the good work, constructing it, on. I'll wait ...

    Give us a wink when the construction is finished.
    water or Holy water ?

    "Is there a medicine ... ?"

    cure for the fglrx ...... ?

    Holy Water cure?

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    water or Holy water ?

    "Is there a medicine ... ?"

    cure for the fglrx ...... ?

    Holy Water cure?
    This forum is neither about religious nonsense nor about proprietary crap.

    Please keep it ontopic.

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I have two questions concerning kms:
    Will there be any tearing when i use xv as output?
    I've got Mesa 7.7-rc2 and a 2.6.32-kernel. What else do i need to activate kms? (besides adding "radeon.modeset=1")

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boerkel View Post
    I have two questions concerning kms:
    Will there be any tearing when i use xv as output?
    I've got Mesa 7.7-rc2 and a 2.6.32-kernel. What else do i need to activate kms? (besides adding "radeon.modeset=1")
    You don't need anything else as far as I know for kms. But if you have an r600+ card I suggest using a newer kernel, since it has the irq support which is wonderful! At least with compiz I got absolutely no tearing.
    However, I got some minor issues with video playback, but probably my mplayer-mt is just way too old...

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boerkel View Post
    I have two questions concerning kms:
    Will there be any tearing when i use xv as output?
    I've got Mesa 7.7-rc2 and a 2.6.32-kernel. What else do i need to activate kms? (besides adding "radeon.modeset=1")
    i think you need mesa 7.8 for kms/openGL2
    i think for all features actual in dev you need also kernel 2.6.33

    last time i check KMS out was on 2.6.32+mesa7.8

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    mesa 7.6.1 will support 3D on r6xx/r7xx with or without kms when it's released. You can grab what will become 7.6.1 from the 7.6 branch of the mesa tree.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Thank You very much! Second URL have those file already assembled and I've put them in /lib/firmware/radeon (after creating radeon folder)... Error is now gone ...
    Update:Error is gone but the graphics became very erratic at boot. I removed that folder, got the error again but very stable and fast graphics with 2.6.32-999 is back.
    If I make folder /lib/firmware/radeon and put /lib/firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin I do not get warning I mentioned earlier, butI get:
    Code:
    [   13.786524] pci 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    [   13.873588] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [   13.936420] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [   13.936821] radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [   13.938895] [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
    [   13.939017] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFEAF0000
    [   13.939019] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    [   13.939914] ATOM BIOS: 9598.10.88.0.3.AS01
    [   13.939935] [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [   13.940893] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
    [   13.940897] [drm] RAM width 128bits DDR
    [   13.942201] [TTM] Zone  kernel: Available graphics memory: 1545666 kiB.
    [   13.942220] [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
    [   13.942222] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [   13.942270]   alloc irq_desc for 28 on node 0
    [   13.942272]   alloc kstat_irqs on node 0
    [   13.942284] radeon 0000:01:00.0: irq 28 for MSI/MSI-X
    [   13.942290] [drm] radeon: using MSI.
    [   13.942315] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [   13.942318] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [   13.942983] [drm] Loading RV635 Microcode
    [   13.942987] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV635_pfp.bin
    [   13.986420] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV635_me.bin
    [   13.994921] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/R600_rlc.bin
    [   14.062166] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    [   14.062257] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    [   14.062330] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [   14.062334] [drm] Enabling audio support
    [   14.062772] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [   14.062774] [drm] Connector 0:
    [   14.062776] [drm]   DVI-I
    [   14.062778] [drm]   HPD1
    [   14.062780] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
    [   14.062782] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   14.062784] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
    [   14.062786] [drm]     CRT2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    [   14.062787] [drm] Connector 1:
    [   14.062789] [drm]   DIN
    [   14.062790] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   14.062791] [drm]     TV1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    [   14.062793] [drm] Connector 2:
    [   14.062794] [drm]   DVI-I
    [   14.062795] [drm]   HPD2
    [   14.062797] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    [   14.062799] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   14.062800] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [   14.062802] [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA
    [   14.257433] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
    [   14.257437] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
    [   14.257439] [drm] size 9437184
    [   14.257441] [drm] fb depth is 24
    [   14.257442] [drm]    pitch is 8192
    [   14.257579] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    [   14.257581] registered panic notifier
    [   14.257587] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    [   14.304936] Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 256x72
    [   16.851484] hda-intel: IRQ timing workaround is activated for card #0. Suggest a bigger bdl_pos_adj.
    [   18.867778] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    
    [   22.175689] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    ...100's of lines
    [   22.191263] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    [   22.192396] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    
    [   23.562358] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    [   23.693659] executing set pll
    [   23.741274] executing set crtc timing
    [   23.741305] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    ...100's of lines
    [   23.741313] [drm] TV-13: set mode 2048x1152 1c
    [   23.778031] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    ...100's of lines
    [   28.756511] [drm:r600_irq_process] *ERROR* Unhandled interrupt: 0 0
    . It makes no problem afterwards and I get:
    Code:
    ~$ glxinfo|grep render
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV635 9598) 20090101  TCL DRI2
    with usual problems with first start of GDM, garbled screen, that I solve by going to tty1 and restarting GDM. Am I doing something wrong ...? I've took R600_rlc.bin from a second URL You gave in one of Your previous messages.
    This, of course happens only if I force KMS in 2.6.32-999, without that it goes without KMS and no problems there, I also get HW render but:
    Code:
    ~$ glxinfo|grep render
    IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV635 9598) 20090101  TCL
    Also, 2.6.32-8 (official Lucid) doesn't use R600_rlc.bin and there are no problems there, I also get HW render but:
    Code:
    ~$ glxinfo|grep render
    do_wait: drmWaitVBlank returned -1, IRQs don't seem to be working correctly.
    Try adjusting the vblank_mode configuration parameter.
    direct rendering: Yes
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV635 9598) 20090101  TCL DRI2
    Update: It seems I've eliminated those mistakes by disabling Interrupt assignment for PCI graphic card in BIOS. (ATI HD 3650)
    Last edited by zika; 12-17-2009 at 09:56 AM.

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    918

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i think you need mesa 7.8 for kms/openGL2
    i think for all features actual in dev you need also kernel 2.6.33
    No need for 2.6.33, you can use 2.6.32+drm-next.
    OpenGL2 is quite buggy now and you need a cflag to enable it, you should wait a bit before enable it.

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi,

    I have a HD 2400 on an Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic, in which I:
    • installed linux-image-2.6.32-999-generic (2.6.32-999.200912161003)
    • added xorg-edgers PPA
    • copied R600_rlc.bin in /lib/firmware/2.6.32-999-generic/radeon
    • added "radeon modeset=1" in /etc/initramfs-tools/modules
    • ran "update-initramfs -u -k all"


    I have two displays: VGA 1600x1200, LVDS 1280x800.

    KMS starts well, I have working DRI2, but I encounter the following problems:
    1. The Linux console has an extra white border on the bigger display. Could this be fixed somehow?
    2. Firefox has hiccups while scrolling, i.e. sometimes some parts of the screen refresh slower.
    3. gtkperf runs slower (10s w/o KMS vs. 15s w/ KMS), but this might be due to vsync.
    4. When I try to enable compiz, Xorg restarts. Nautilus crashes with "The error was 'BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)'." I get the following errors in my dmesg:
      Code:
      [  511.442775] radeon 0000:01:00.0: object_init failed for (13824000, 0x00000004)
      [  511.442781] [drm:radeon_gem_object_create] *ERROR* Failed to allocate GEM object (13824000, 4, 4096)
      And in my xorg.conf:
      Code:
      Failed to alloc memory
    5. Suspend/resume hangs the system.


    Also, I find it a little bit freakish that until Gnome loads, I can see the content of the desktop before the last reboot. Couldn't the KMS driver clear the whole VRAM?

    Does anybody know solutions to the above problems?

    Thanks in advance,
    Cristi.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Exodus hair
    Posts
    76

    Default

    I've installed 2.6.33-999 today in Lucid. It starts in non-KMS by default, on my machine (ATI HD3650). When forced to KMS (radeon.modeset=1) it stalls (only Alt-SysRq-B helps). When I've put /lib/firmware/2.6.33-999-generic/radeon/R600_rlc.bin it starts in KMS, with, as I had with 2.6.32-999, garbled screen in gdm, but a trip to a tty1 and sudo service gdm restart gets me into gdm with KMS. Just to report. It is good I've learned a trick with R600_rlc.bin earlier from You. Thank You.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •