Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Is My CPU capable of being overclocked

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Is My CPU capable of being overclocked

    Hey, I have a intel E5200 2.5ghz cpu. Im going to upgrade to a quad a core in a couple months, so i was wondering if its safe for me to overclock my current cpu. It idles around 37C and when on load goes to about 47C. I was thinking about overclocking to 3.5ghz, will that keep my temps under 60C. What do you think, should I go for it and overclock it? Will it be safe? (I do plan on using my e5200 for older pc, after getting my quad, so yes I do want it to last for a while). Thanks.

    Niro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Just give it a try. Even if it doesn't OC so well it wont break immediately because of that. :P
    Just do it in little steps and monitor temp.

    I got a E6600 with 2.4 Ghz which I occasionally oc to 3 Ghz (for KDE upgrages for example). A E5200 iirc stays cooler, so I guess you should be able to get more than 3 Ghz easily.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhick View Post
    Just give it a try. Even if it doesn't OC so well it wont break immediately because of that. :P
    Just do it in little steps and monitor temp.

    I got a E6600 with 2.4 Ghz which I occasionally oc to 3 Ghz (for KDE upgrages for example). A E5200 iirc stays cooler, so I guess you should be able to get more than 3 Ghz easily.
    Ok im just doing a bit more research, I will do it soon thanks for reply. If anyone else can help would be great. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niro View Post
    Ok im just doing a bit more research, I will do it soon thanks for reply. If anyone else can help would be great. Thanks again.
    If your going to overclock your cpu, i would suggest you get it stable
    under windows xp by using prime 95 /orthos. The linux file system is more likelyto become corrupted in an overclocked system

    My cpu could run cpu burn for hours(q6600) but the file system ended up corrupted 6 months later opening files in nautilus degraded and took
    ages with the corruption being a slow process. I think this is because i added more ram...which changed voltage requirements.

    REMEMBER if you upgrade ram or video card at a later date you will
    have to run these tests again as they will strain the north an southbridge of your motherboard and voltage adjustments will be needed.
    pay attention to actual voltage of sensors rather than what you set it to.

    many over clockers recommend you run orthos and an prime 95 for 24 hours
    for true stability under windows. mine passed this to...

    In my experience the best program for windows is hotcpu a retail product.
    But if you are after freeware try intelburn. This really tortures your cpu. I think it is used in the intel factory it is freely available and is a fairly quick test, many people are scared to run this as cpu reaches temps upto 20c higher than prime 95.
    It also is available for linux... but beware of file corruption.
    I keep a small windows partition for my overclocking...

    Should be a fairly easy overclock with a dual core with to slots of ram filled.
    GOOD LUCK...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Ok i tried overclocking changed voltage change it to 3.5ghz. When i exit the bios by saving, the computer restarts. Then it shuts down again. Its starts then shutsdown in like 2 seconds. And continues this process, until i manually switch the power off from powersupply. Any idea why this is happening?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,279

    Default

    Maybe 3.5 GHz is too much. Try going up a bit at a time from stock and confirming operation at each new higher frequency.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Yea I just tried changing the voltages its at 1.3v now. Running Orthos right now, its been 8 minutes -.-. But so far its good its going cool no blue screan yet ... temps reached 56C, and its staying there for now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    Well of course there's no blue screen... that's only for crap like Windows

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ant P. View Post
    Well of course there's no blue screen... that's only for crap like Windows
    lol i am using windows (windows xp sp3)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Do you guys think running orthos for 12 hours will determine if the cpu is stable after overclock?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •