Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Catalyst drivers, libdrm2, and Debian Testing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    Default Catalyst drivers, libdrm2, and Debian Testing

    Yesterday a newer Xserver (finally) migrated to Testing. For those of us who lost 2D acceleration with the new libdrm2, this fixes that problem.

    So, if you go ahead and update libdrm2 to version 2.4.12-1, update Xserver to version 1:7.4+4, and regenerate your kernel module, you should be good to go.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    The kernel module is the same, but my script uses another target then, therefore it packages the correct xorg driver files.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Kano,

    I see you are a Debian dev., so you are way ahead of me!

    After updating the xserver, Xorg could not load the old kernel module. A recompile fixed that.


    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    The kernel module is the same, but my script uses another target then, therefore it packages the correct xorg driver files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    Well then you updated the kernel and did not use my script. m-a does not automatically compile a module, dkms does which is used by my script.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Kano,

    Same kernel. Was running Catalyst 9.8. Got rid of everything and installed 9.9 using ATI's script.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Paderborn
    Posts
    40

    Default

    <debian fglrx maintainer is>
    nice to hear, that it is now fixed for (most) people.
    </debian fglrx maintainer is>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    I am no Debian maintainer, I check the Ubuntu packageing which i use for my script. When you create Debian packages, those will be updated using a dist-upgrade too as they use the same names. My distro is called Kanotix.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    I am no Debian maintainer, I check the Ubuntu packageing which i use for my script. When you create Debian packages, those will be updated using a dist-upgrade too as they use the same names. My distro is called Kanotix.
    Might want to change your description to Kanotix founder/developer then. You've been misleading quite a lot of people who think that you're an actual debian *maintainer*.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    I have got no idea how to do this. I did not write that comment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •