Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Completely BROKEN KWIN with KMS/Radeon

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    71

    Angry Completely BROKEN KWIN with KMS/Radeon

    KDE 4.4 Beta's KWin window manager is utterly broken with the radeon driver (v4.3.67).

    It would be very nice is someone in the radeon developer gang could install the new fancy KDE 4.4 beta technology and figure out what is going on. The old and dusty KDE 4.3 KWin appeared to work close to perfectly. The new KWin will for some reason not redraw much of the screen, if you move some window around then it leaves traces all over the place.

    I have not tested the fancy new KWin with any other graphics card, driver or computer for that matter, but I assume that someone in the KDE gang would have noticed this amount of fsckup if it had affected everything.

    thanks for reading all of this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    A recent update blew up Kwin (I'm running KDE 4.3)

    I had this problem a long time ago, while using XRender effects, back when there was no functioning OpenGL acceleration with free drivers. Then, it was gone, and OpenGL compositing worked perfectly.

    A recent update broke it again. There are strange-coloured shadows around windows and windows don't redraw unless you move them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    825

    Default

    This is a bug which was introduced by a change in mesa. KDE version is not relevant.

    Revert to commit 48dfd3938e428295c45692cfde0a2afff04a7970 or earlier.
    Last edited by chithanh; 11-29-2009 at 07:37 PM. Reason: add link to bugs.fdo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Yep I've been having this problem too on 4.3.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Ihave this problem too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default

    I had the same problem on gnome, if I used the virtual directive in xorg.conf (for multi monitor stuff).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pvtcupcakes View Post
    Yep I've been having this problem too on 4.3.
    Thank you for clarifying this! My bad I just blindly assumed it was kwins fault when I updated that, I update radeon git so frequently that I "forgot" about that. thankz. Guess it's up to the AMD assets to fix this, then.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by barkas View Post
    I had the same problem on gnome, if I used the virtual directive in xorg.conf (for multi monitor stuff).
    I obviously also abuse the virtual directive. What else would one do, use only one monitor?? "One monitor should be enough for anyone"? NO.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    36

    Default

    same here. :'(

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Same here.
    Using libdrm and xf86-video-ati from git pulled on 11/28 with mesa from 11/14 works well but as soon as I upgrade mesa to git pulled on the 11/28 and I get artifacts all over the place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •