Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: KMS: how to do modesetting on console?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    213

    Default KMS: how to do modesetting on console?

    Now that R300 KMS is in the kernel, I'm curious as to how one
    does set a specific resolution outside X (i.e. on the framebuffer console).
    I work a lot on the console; but the screen is large (1920x1200) and by default KMS sets to 1920x1200x32bpp, which makes scrolling _extremely_
    slow and cpu-intensive (i.e. dmesg scrolling by takes ages).

    So I want to set it to 1920x1200x8bpp to make scrolling a bit faster,
    but I don't see how to do it. fbset doesn't work and generally reports
    invalid ioctl or somesuch when trying to set a new resolution.

    Any ideas?
    Last edited by mlau; 09-29-2009 at 07:17 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Same question.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    15

    Default

    AFAIK, there is no way yet to change the resolution in KMS consoles...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Dave recently posted some patches to dri-devel for setting the console modes on via the command line.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,671

    Default

    Hmm, I recall the framebuffer wasn't properly hardware-accelerated earlier. Is this still the case?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Yes. It's not HW accelerated and likely won't ever be.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Yes. It's not HW accelerated and likely won't ever be.
    Thats... unfortunate. What's missing is some sort of DRM-driven console? (a 'drmcon' instead of 'fbcon'?)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,671

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mlau View Post
    Thats... unfortunate. What's missing is some sort of DRM-driven console? (a 'drmcon' instead of 'fbcon'?)
    Actually fbcon is using DRM framebuffer. I recall hearing security concerns related to using eg blits there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Some EGL-based hacks could be used to implement a hardware-accelerated console in user space. Obviously this would work on a "he who's interested in it should implement it" basis.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    213

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Yes. It's not HW accelerated and likely won't ever be.
    Going back to my original question: Is it possible to set another videomode on the KMS-driven linux framebuffer console?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •