Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: is it just me or.....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default is it just me or.....

    is the browser not placing the banner in the right position?

    Ubuntu Firefox



    Chrome




    This doesn't happen on the main news page. only forums.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Yes, same here. I noticed it before but didn't think of it as being worthy a mention though.

    This is a result from the " " inside the cell used to display the banner:

    Code:
    <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="1002" align="center">
    <tbody><tr>
    	<td align="left"><a href="http://www.phoronix.com/forums/index.php"><img title="Phoronix Forums" src="test_files/phoronix-forums-banner.png" alt="Phoronix Forums" border="0"></a></td>
    	<td id="header_right_cell" align="right">
    		&nbsp;
    	</td>
    </tr>
    </tbody></table>
    Removing that "&nbsp;" fixes the issue, but reveals that the logo is the wrong width (or the forum is the wrong width, depends on how you look at it.)
    Last edited by RealNC; 10-02-2009 at 06:07 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,283

    Default

    Opera renders like your Chrome pic.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I'd say it's the forum at the wrong width, the header is 1000px while the rest is set at 1002px (a bit of an odd number).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    firefox in ubuntu 9.10 now renders it like the chrome picture.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    OK I have to ask... is that user a spambot or something? Their posts seem to be completely random and meaningless, but there's no hidden links in them or anything.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    konqueror, start page is fine, forums look like the second picture.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •