Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: A couple of questions

  1. #1

    Question A couple of questions!

    Hi,
    I was just wondering a couple of things!

    When will I be able to play Doom III on the opensource ATi driver? The 9.3 Catalyst is horrible in Hardy, and the only thing stopping me from installing Linux fulltime is the lack of a decent 3D driver. Don't get me wrong, the opensource driver beats the 9.3 Catalyst in everyway except 3D acceleration!

    The second thing is pretty simple I hope, could someone please point me to a site/page that explains the whole Linux graphics thing as libdrm, KMS and all that confuses me!

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by mortified_mort; 10-09-2009 at 02:04 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mortified_mort View Post
    Hi,
    I was just wondering a couple of things!

    When will I be able to play Doom III on the opensource ATi driver? The 9.3 Catalyst is horrible in Hardy, and the only thing stopping me from installing Linux fulltime is the lack of a decent 3D driver. Don't get me wrong, the opensource driver beats the 9.3 Catalyst in everyway except 3D acceleration!

    The second thing is pretty simple I hope, could someone please point me to a site/page that explains the whole Linux graphics thing as libdrm, KMS and all that confuses me!

    Thanks in advance!
    Eventually it will be able to... Maybe late next year (I'm guessing).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mortified_mort View Post
    Hi,
    I was just wondering a couple of things!

    When will I be able to play Doom III on the opensource ATi driver? The 9.3 Catalyst is horrible in Hardy, and the only thing stopping me from installing Linux fulltime is the lack of a decent 3D driver. Don't get me wrong, the opensource driver beats the 9.3 Catalyst in everyway except 3D acceleration!

    The second thing is pretty simple I hope, could someone please point me to a site/page that explains the whole Linux graphics thing as libdrm, KMS and all that confuses me!

    Thanks in advance!
    Depends on if you're using r600 or not. The older r300-r500 gpus will probably be able to run Doom 3 first, and r600 may be a couple of months after that. But like the above poster said, it's still a ways off.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I could play Doom3 with an RV280 and radeon driver but the framerate was low (10-15 fps) or worse when the action got heavy. I plugged in the RV350 (and 2.6.31) which was playable (3 years ago) on fglrx but I no longer have dri (or drm) so no point in trying. Will try again when new hard disk arrives.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    77

    Default

    If you have an R300-R500, please just go ahead and try it with the latest open source drivers. I don't remember off the top of my head whether there are any Doom 3 related bugs, but if there are, just tell us about them, because I think it should work, albeit probably at less-than-stellar performance.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nhaehnle View Post
    If you have an R300-R500, please just go ahead and try it with the latest open source drivers. I don't remember off the top of my head whether there are any Doom 3 related bugs, but if there are, just tell us about them, because I think it should work, albeit probably at less-than-stellar performance.
    I just get white where the textures should be on the title screen, if I try to go any further the PC locks up. I tested using Kubuntu Karmic with all the updates.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Does Doom3 use S3TC or any of the other "will never be in Open Source drivers" patented features?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    77

    Default

    It might be S3TC, yes. Note that in principle you can get S3TC with an external library (Disclaimer: That support may be broken right now...)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mortified_mort View Post
    I just get white where the textures should be on the title screen, if I try to go any further the PC locks up. I tested using Kubuntu Karmic with all the updates.
    It has been posted on here in the past that doom3 works if you edit

    ~/.doom3/base/DoomConfig.cfg and make sure you have r_renderer set to "arb"


    s3tc isn't generally a problem for OSS games with radeons. There is an external lib but I don't think you really need it to use the cards hw support for s3tc. More info -

    http://homepage.hispeed.ch/rscheideg...3tc_index.html

    Currently the r6xx drivers don't yet support s3tc so this just means you have to turn it off in the game. In the case of doom3 it's -

    seta image_usePrecompressedTextures "0"
    seta image_useNormalCompression "0"
    seta image_useCompression "0"

    I just tested on a rv670 and these at least made the splash/menues display correctly (they were garbage without).

    I did however hit a problem on loading a level, the game quit with -

    doom.x86: radeon_texture.c:883: migrate_image_to_miptree: Assertion `srclvl->size == dstlvl->size' failed.

    I don't know if this is a general, or r6xx specific problem.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nhaehnle View Post
    If you have an R300-R500, please just go ahead and try it with the latest open source drivers. I don't remember off the top of my head whether there are any Doom 3 related bugs, but if there are, just tell us about them, because I think it should work, albeit probably at less-than-stellar performance.
    I filed a bug for a doom3 problem, which is not yet fixed:
    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=23710

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •