Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple X sessions w/ Radeon

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    68

    Default Multiple X sessions w/ Radeon

    Hi, I'm wanting to know whether it is possible to have hardware acceleration with the radeon open source driver on multiple X sessions.

    I've got a Radeon 9600 card in my older computer, which I want to use to run apps on other X screens to get around lack of ALT+TAB functionalities, in many games etc..

    I do this just fine on my main machine (HD 4650) using the fglrx driver, but using the R300 radeon driver, only software acceleration is available on any X sessions other than the main one.

    This also means that guest sessions don't have 3d functionalities which is annoying..

    On the main session:
    Code:
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R300 (RV350 4150) 20090101 AGP 8x  TCL
    but on a guest session:

    Code:
    OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer

    Is this going to be available at some point? This is a thing that I use a lot on my computers.
    The open drivers rock on almost everything else though -- currently UT2004 runs on about medium settings reasonably well which is great progress!.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,514

    Default

    I believe the required support was recently added to the KMS paths of drm. Not sure if any remaining work needs to be done on the other driverse but the impression I got from IRC backlog was that it should work plus or minus a few bugs. Maybe give F12 a try if you want a ready to go KMS stack.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Thanks, it indeed works with KMS enabled.

    However, there are some usability issues still in the KMS driver which will stop me from using it.

    • The available display modes are different with KMS

    • Scrolling performance is bad in terminal and firefox

    • FPS in UT2004 averages about 21 instead of 34 without KMS


    I'm guessing that performance will gradually improve over time as it matures, but I've tried searching about the display mode differences and everything I've found says that they've fixed it.

    I have a CRT monitor (EDID actually works), and the best mode is 1280x1024 but with KMS, the top available mode is only 1024x768.
    I am of course able to add the mode and use it which I have, but using a startup script to set my resolution doesn't feel right.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    448

    Default I also only get 1024x768 with KMS by default

    Quote Originally Posted by poofyyoda View Post
    • The available display modes are different with KMS


    I have a CRT monitor (EDID actually works), and the best mode is 1280x1024 but with KMS, the top available mode is only 1024x768.
    I have a flat panel monitor connected to the DVI port of an R100 card, but also only get 1024x768 resolution.

    Code:
    [drm] Default TV standard: PAL
    [drm] 27.000000000 MHz TV ref clk
    [drm] DFP table revision: 3
    i2c-adapter i2c-0: unable to read EDID block.
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: VGA-1: no EDID data
    allocated d7826000 1024x768 fb: 0x00040000, bo d6b0f2a0
    fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
    [drm] TMDS-8: set mode 1024x768 11
    fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    registered panic notifier
    [drm] setting agp_base to ec000000
    [drm] setting agp_location to ec000000
    [drm] Loading R100 Microcode
    [drm] writeback test succeeded in 1 usecs
    [drm] Initialized radeon 1.30.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    This is with the very latest Fedora 11 kernel and userspace:

    Linux 2.6.30.9-96.fc11.i586 #1 SMP Tue Nov 3 23:33:04 EST 2009 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    I have added the 1280x1024 60Hz mode manually via xrandr, but the X fonts still seem unnaturally small.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,395

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
    I have a flat panel monitor connected to the DVI port of an R100 card, but also only get 1024x768 resolution.

    This is with the very latest Fedora 11 kernel and userspace:
    The ddc i2c code in kms in f11 was pretty flakey. I'd try F12, or a newer kernel (2.6.31 or 32).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    448

    Default It seems fixed in 2.6.31.5

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The ddc i2c code in kms in f11 was pretty flakey. I'd try F12, or a newer kernel (2.6.31 or 32).
    Code:
    Linux agpgart interface v0.103
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: Intel 440BX Chipset
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 64M @ 0xec000000
    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [drm] radeon default to kernel modesetting.
    [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNKA] enabled at IRQ 11
    PCI: setting IRQ 11 as level-triggered
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LNKA] -> GSI 11 (level, low) -> IRQ 11
    [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
    [drm] register mmio base: 0xE8100000
    [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    [drm] GPU reset succeed (RBBM_STATUS=0x00000140)
    [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=64M, BAR=128M
    [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP 1.0 bridge
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 2x mode
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V2 device into 2x mode
    [drm] radeon: VRAM 64M
    [drm] radeon: VRAM from 0x00000000 to 0x03FFFFFF
    [drm] radeon: GTT 64M
    [drm] radeon: GTT from 0xEC000000 to 0xEFFFFFFF
    [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [TTM] TTM available graphics memory: 187 MiB
    [TTM] TTM available object memory: 187 MiB
    [drm] radeon: 64M of VRAM memory ready
    [drm] radeon: 64M of GTT memory ready.
    [drm] radeon: cp idle (0x00008080)
    [drm] Loading R100 Microcode
    [drm] radeon: ring at 0x00000000EC000000
    [drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [drm] Default TV standard: PAL
    [drm] 27.000000000 MHz TV ref clk
    [drm] DFP table revision: 3
    [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [drm] Connector 0:
    [drm]   VGA
    [drm]   DDC: 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60 0x60
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_DAC1
    [drm] Connector 1:
    [drm]   DVI-I
    [drm]   DDC: 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64 0x64
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     CRT2: INTERNAL_DAC2
    [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_TMDS1
    i2c-adapter i2c-0: unable to read EDID block.
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: VGA-1: no EDID data
    [drm] fb mappable at 0xF0040000
    [drm] vram apper at 0xF0000000
    [drm] size 5242880
    [drm] fb depth is 24
    [drm]    pitch is 5120
    [drm] TMDS-8: set mode 1280x1024 12
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x64
    fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    registered panic notifier
    [drm] radeon: kernel modesetting successfully initialized.
    [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    But I won't be able to test this against the X server until I can install the Fedora 12 userspace environment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •