Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: AMD Releases The Radeon HD 5970 2GB

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,368

    Default AMD Releases The Radeon HD 5970 2GB

    Phoronix: AMD Releases The Radeon HD 5970 2GB

    Today AMD finally lifted the lid on Hemlock, their new ultra high-end dual-GPU graphics card that is being marketed as the Radeon HD 5970 (similar to the Radeon HD 4870 X2 but now for the Evergreen GPU family). The Radeon HD 5970 has 3200 stream processors (1600 per Cypress GPU), a combined 2GB of GDDR5 video memory, and AMD Eyefinity support for driving three displays simultaneously...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzcxNg

  2. #2

    Default

    Wow the US price of $599.99 from amazon.com seems seriously good value. The UK amazon price of 528.67 ($889.011 at current exchange rates) http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sapphire-HD5...8554603&sr=8-1 seems not to be.

  3. #3

    Default VAT is not 32.5%

    Wow the US price of $599.99 from amazon.com seems seriously good value. The UK amazon price of 528.67 ($889.011 at current exchange rates) http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sapphire-HD5...8554603&sr=8-1 seems not to be.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    The big question is if it offers anything more then a single GPU card, or is it going to be the same old song and dance that you can only use 1 GPU under linux leaviing it no better then a extremely overpriced 5870.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Monster card for Microsoft Windows, but just an expensive paperweight for Linux.

    Go go AMD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Maybe somebody can put some ligth on that strange thing: it is said that the open source driver does not work with digital outputs... but aren't digital outputs managed with the infamous ATOM bios where video mode programming is done the same way on any ATOM bios board?
    If breakage there is, is this related to the new eye infinity engine?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,329

    Default

    Modesetting is not done the same way on every ATOM board. ATOM just provides an abstraction from the hardware; the ATOM setup changes as the hardware evolves. The crtc and analog ATOM tables are pretty similar to older generations, however the digital ATOM tables have changed due to the new display hardware.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    2GB of VRAM sounds nice, GTA IV would be happy. $600 is awful lot of money .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hax0r View Post
    2GB of VRAM sounds nice, GTA IV would be happy. $600 is awful lot of money .
    it's still "only" 1 GB per GPU. As GPUs cannot access each other's memory, all textures etc. need to be kept twice. It'll still be a while until you can actually crank that slider in GTA IV.

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Eyefinity is a pretty drastic change from previous display controllers, so there's a learning curve associated with the initial debug.
    I imagine that's one of the more difficult things to debug. "Oh, it's a black screen.. again!"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks AMD again for giving Linux support for another dual core card and once again totally forget about the HD3870 X2 in the new Catalyst drivers,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •