Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 73

Thread: KMS + Radeon quick mini guide

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Is this feature integrated in radeonhd yet ?

    And in fglrx ?

    Thanks

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A Coruña (Spain)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Make sure you updated your libdrm tree properly. Here is the relevant commit:
    http://cgit.freedesktop.org/mesa/drm...f5ed5693c0fb58
    I have the correct version of libdrm:
    Code:
    $ nm -D /usr/lib/libdrm.so.2.4.0 | grep Fd
    00000000000032c0 T drmGetDeviceNameFromFd
    but xf86-video-ati still refuses to install in gentoo:
    Code:
      CC    radeon_dri2.o
    radeon_dri2.c: In function ‘radeon_dri2_screen_init’:
    radeon_dri2.c:339: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘drmGetDeviceNameFromFd’
    radeon_dri2.c:339: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
    It might work if xf86drm.h was actually included in radeon_dri2.c.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fran View Post
    I have the correct version of libdrm:
    Code:
    $ nm -D /usr/lib/libdrm.so.2.4.0 | grep Fd
    00000000000032c0 T drmGetDeviceNameFromFd
    but xf86-video-ati still refuses to install in gentoo:
    Code:
      CC    radeon_dri2.o
    radeon_dri2.c: In function ‘radeon_dri2_screen_init’:
    radeon_dri2.c:339: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘drmGetDeviceNameFromFd’
    radeon_dri2.c:339: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
    It might work if xf86drm.h was actually included in radeon_dri2.c.
    Your build is not finding the proper libdrm. xf86drm.h is included in radeon.h

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guilo View Post
    Is this feature integrated in radeonhd yet ?

    And in fglrx ?

    Thanks
    oh yes... in radeon you have working Xv in fglrx its broken!

    only openGL viedeo rendering works Good in FGLRX...

    at fglrx you have openGL3+ but,, its broken some extansions effektet in wine are broken... fglrx is broken at openGL...

    i think catalyst 9.12 will fix this problem because of openGL3.2 and the special wine openGL exstansions.

    at radeon+kms+openGL2 its broken to yes its broken but amd tells fglrx stable and radeon openGL2 is only an experimental unstable feature-test..

    overall you can use openGL1,5 with radeon and good openGL2.1 with fglrx or in the near future openGL3.2... OpenGL3.0 and openGL3.1 are not realy usefull.

    radeon have DRI2 fglrx only dri..

    radeon have KMS fglrx does not have KMS

    radeon do not have flash viedeo acceleration.. fglrx have viedeo acceleration..

    radeon have EAX Desktop Acceleration FGLRX only have XAA acceleration

    Radeon have working Compiz fglrx has (2sec bug)lags and in my test crashes.



    so you have the Choice between Cancer and Influenza...

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A Coruña (Spain)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Your build is not finding the proper libdrm. xf86drm.h is included in radeon.h
    You're right. I don't know how, but I had an ancient libdrm in /usr/local. Sorry for the noise.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,325

    Default

    Using sidux (2.6.32 kernel and Xserver 1.6.5 ATM), everything built properly. I stopped kdm and went into TTY1, reloaded the modules and was greeted with the console at native resolution. No errors in dmesg. So far, so good.

    Tried to start kdm, and was greeted with a very garbled screen. Everything looks good in Xorg log:
    Code:
    (II) RADEON(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
    ..
    (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib/dri/r600_dri.so
    (II) GLX: Initialized DRI2 GL provider for screen 0
    dmesg:
    Code:
    kernel: [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    kernel: [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    kernel: radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    kernel: [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
    kernel: [drm] register mmio base: 0xFEAF0000
    kernel: [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    kernel: ATOM BIOS: 11X
    kernel: [drm] Clocks initialized !
    kernel: [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=256M, BAR=256M
    kernel: [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
    kernel: [TTM] Zone kernel: Available graphics memory: 1030558 kiB.
    kernel: [drm] radeon: 256M of VRAM memory ready
    kernel: [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    kernel: [drm] Loading RV710 CP Microcode
    kernel: platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV710_pfp.bin
    kernel: platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV710_me.bin
    kernel: [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    kernel: [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    kernel: [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    kernel: [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    kernel: [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    kernel: [drm] Connector 0:
    kernel: [drm]   VGA
    kernel: [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    kernel: [drm]   Encoders:
    kernel: [drm]     CRT2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    kernel: [drm] Connector 1:
    kernel: [drm]   HDMI-A
    kernel: [drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
    kernel: [drm]   Encoders:
    kernel: [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
    kernel: [drm] Connector 2:
    kernel: [drm]   DVI-I
    kernel: [drm]   DDC: 0x7f10 0x7f10 0x7f14 0x7f14 0x7f18 0x7f18 0x7f1c 0x7f1c
    kernel: [drm]   Encoders:
    kernel: [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    kernel: [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
    kernel: [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
    kernel: [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
    kernel: [drm] size 7257600
    kernel: [drm] fb depth is 24
    kernel: [drm]    pitch is 6912
    kernel: fb: conflicting fb hw usage radeondrmfb vs VESA VGA - removing generic driver
    kernel: Console: switching to colour dummy device 80x25
    kernel: Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 210x65
    kernel: executing set pll
    kernel: executing set crtc timing
    kernel: [drm] TMDS-15: set mode 1680x1050 26
    kernel: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    kernel: registered panic notifier
    kernel: [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    Ideas?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    122

    Default

    >radeon have DRI2 fglrx only dri..

    you can't really compare them.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,574

    Default

    Right. The fglrx driver does not use the DRI2 protocol but provides most of the same benefits, including Redirected Direct Rendering.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I have tried to use KMS on x700 but as i didn't want to build git releases i used http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/ubuntu/ as a software source and did all updates from it with kpakckagekit.

    How surprised i have been when I saw it working out of the box after the update (a rebot later of course). It's not the most important feature but it's still great.

    I have noticed a few problems tough.
    If you try to switch to a tty during kde loading, coming back to X will give you a broken kde with only a gnombe background : no taskbar or anything. I have killed X to restart kdm and not to switch during kde load. Kde started correctly but I was unable to launch kde apps. I rebooted and it was fixed.

    One other thing : booting without radeon.modeset=1 willnot work. X tries to start and crashes instantly.

    Thanks for the good work on this driver.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guilo View Post
    I have tried to use KMS on x700 but as i didn't want to build git releases i used http://ppa.launchpad.net/xorg-edgers/ubuntu/ as a software source and did all updates from it with kpakckagekit.

    How surprised i have been when I saw it working out of the box after the update (a rebot later of course). It's not the most important feature but it's still great.

    I have noticed a few problems tough.
    If you try to switch to a tty during kde loading, coming back to X will give you a broken kde with only a gnombe background : no taskbar or anything. I have killed X to restart kdm and not to switch during kde load. Kde started correctly but I was unable to launch kde apps. I rebooted and it was fixed.

    One other thing : booting without radeon.modeset=1 willnot work. X tries to start and crashes instantly.

    Thanks for the good work on this driver.
    Are you using Linux 2.6.32?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •