Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: What Kind Of People Use X.Org's VESA Driver?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,822

    Default What Kind Of People Use X.Org's VESA Driver?

    Phoronix: What Kind Of People Use X.Org's VESA Driver?

    Yesterday we shared the first numbers from our 2009 Linux Graphics Survey that showed the open-source ATI driver is now more popular than ATI's official Catalyst driver. The full results from this survey that concluded last month will be published tomorrow, but in yesterday's graph that we showed there was also something else interesting: the X.Org VESA driver usage...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=Nzc3Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,631

    Default

    Maybe Intel means GMA 500 too, that's psb not intel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Europa's shoe
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Probably these are mostly servers accessed with vnc/ssh. In this case only advantage running a full-blown driver would be power management.
    Or people enraged with crashing drivers

  4. #4

    Default

    I will tell you why

    1) In rare situations NVIDIA releases hardware which is not supported nor by their binary drivers, neither by NV driver.

    2) In rare situations you want to check out if the graphics glitch you've faced is caused by VENDOR_NAME drivers so you run generic VESA drivers.

    However I'm still puzzled who might want to use vesa driver on a regular basis.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Keep in mind this was a web poll. The validity of every entry is not guaranteed. I bet there were a few people that went "lol vesa" and picked that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    I sometimes use the VESA driver on my two GeForce GTX285 (2Gb each) because it is the only way to use their vram as swapspace without hanging the system (using the phram module). This way I can get up to 8 Gb of RAM on my M2N32-SLI Deluxe (4 Gb of system RAM and 4 of video RAM). But I think this is not so common.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,631

    Default

    Buying 2x2 gb extra ram would be smarter

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Buying 2x2 gb extra ram would be smarter
    Yes, but RAM sticks don't render X-Plane very well

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Default Yeah but

    Quote Originally Posted by kbios View Post
    Yes, but RAM sticks don't render X-Plane very well
    Neither does the VESA driver!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 3rdalbum View Post
    Neither does the VESA driver!
    You're right. What I'm saying is that if I had only 8 Gb of RAM but no video-card I wouldn't be able to run X-Plane (as everything else ). Instead, with this cards I can choose between playing or having 8 Gb of RAM if I need them (3d render etc.).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •