Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Radeon KMS, kernel 2.6.33-rc1 /// blue horizontal lines flashes all over the screen.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default Radeon KMS, kernel 2.6.33-rc1 /// blue horizontal lines flashes all over the screen.

    Hello again,

    many thanks to the people developing opesource radeon, mesa, drm and etc.

    Everything works nice for me with 2.6.32, mesa, drm and ati from git.

    I have tried the new 2.6.33-rc1 and downloaded separately the firmware R600_rlc.bin. But when it is initialized, I have thin blue lines (abt 5-10 mm long) all over the screen. Both in console and in X. Actually everything works nice, but this flashing lines... Can anyone make any suggestions? Thank you in advance.

    Here is my dmesg part for drm:
    Code:
    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.
    [drm] register mmio base: 0x88020000
    [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    ATOM BIOS: SonyM750
    [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=128M, BAR=128M
    [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
    [TTM] Zone  kernel: Available graphics memory: 1027616 kiB.
    [drm] radeon: 128M of VRAM memory ready
    [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [drm] Loading RV620 CP Microcode
    platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV620_pfp.bin
    platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV620_me.bin
    [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [drm] Connector 0:
    [drm]   VGA
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [drm] Connector 1:
    [drm]   LVDS
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA
    [drm] Connector 2:
    [drm]   DVI-D
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e20 0x7e20 0x7e24 0x7e24 0x7e28 0x7e28 0x7e2c 0x7e2c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
    [drm] fb mappable at 0x80141000
    [drm] vram apper at 0x80000000
    [drm] size 4096000
    [drm] fb depth is 24
    [drm]    pitch is 5120
    executing set pll
    executing set crtc timing
    [drm] LVDS-11: set mode 1280x800 18
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x50
    fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    registered panic notifier
    [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    Last edited by dolphin77; 12-18-2009 at 10:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Ooops sorry, put the wrong dmesg (it was from 2.6.32 kernel). This one goes for 2.6.33-rc1:

    Code:
    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810                                                                                                                         
    [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.                                                                                                               
    [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.                                                                                                                     
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16                                                                                              
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: setting latency timer to 64                                                                                                             
    [drm] radeon: Initializing kernel modesetting.                                                                                                               
    [drm] register mmio base: 0x88020000                                                                                                                         
    [drm] register mmio size: 65536                                                                                                                              
    ATOM BIOS: SonyM750                                                                                                                                          
    [drm] Clocks initialized !                                                                                                                                   
    [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=128M, BAR=128M                                                                                                                       
    [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR                                                                                                                                   
    [TTM] Zone  kernel: Available graphics memory: 1027600 kiB.                                                                                                  
    [drm] radeon: 128M of VRAM memory ready                                                                                                                      
    [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.                                                                                                                      
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: irq 32 for MSI/MSI-X                                                                                                                    
    [drm] radeon: using MSI.                                                                                                                                     
    [drm] radeon: irq initialized.                                                                                                                               
    [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072                                                                                                       
    [drm] Loading RV620 Microcode                                                                                                                                
    platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV620_pfp.bin                                                                                              
    platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RV620_me.bin                                                                                               
    platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/R600_rlc.bin                                                                                               
    [drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs                                                                                                                         
    [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.                                                                                                                                 
    [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs                                                                                                                           
    [drm] Enabling audio support                                                                                                                                 
    [drm] Radeon Display Connectors                                                                                                                              
    [drm] Connector 0:
    [drm]   VGA                                                                                                                                                  
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c                                                                                         
    [drm]   Encoders:                                                                                                                                            
    [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1                                                                                                                         
    [drm] Connector 1:                                                                                                                                           
    [drm]   LVDS                                                                                                                                                 
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c                                                                                         
    [drm]   Encoders:                                                                                                                                            
    [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_LVTMA                                                                                                                        
    [drm] Connector 2:                                                                                                                                           
    [drm]   DVI-D                                                                                                                                                
    [drm]   HPD2                                                                                                                                                 
    [drm]   DDC: 0x7e20 0x7e20 0x7e24 0x7e24 0x7e28 0x7e28 0x7e2c 0x7e2c                                                                                         
    [drm]   Encoders:                                                                                                                                            
    [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY                                                                                                                              
    [drm] fb mappable at 0x80141000                                                                                                                              
    [drm] vram apper at 0x80000000
    [drm] size 4096000
    [drm] fb depth is 24
    [drm]    pitch is 5120
    executing set pll
    executing set crtc timing
    [drm] LVDS-11: set mode 1280x800 18
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 160x50
    fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    registered panic notifier
    [drm] Initialized radeon 2.0.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dolphin77 View Post
    I have tried the new 2.6.33-rc1 and downloaded separately the firmware R600_rlc.bin. But when it is initialized, I have thin blue lines (abt 5-10 mm long) all over the screen.
    I notice the same thing. The lines are a bit annoying, but like you say, everything else does seem to work great, despite the glitch. According to my dmesg though, it's using a different firmware. It's one of the R600_* firmwares, but it's not rlc (I can't remember which off the top of my head). The video "card" in question is an X1270 (in a Gateway LT3103u).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,578

    Default

    AFAIK the X12xx parts don't use any of the new microcode. You're probably seeing a message for the 690 CP microcode ?

    It's interesting that you're both seeing the same artifacts - were you both running with kernel modesetting before ?
    Last edited by bridgman; 12-21-2009 at 09:42 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    AFAIK the X12xx parts don't use any of the new microcode. You're probably seeing a message for the 690 CP microcode ?

    It's interesting that you're both seeing the same artifacts - were you both running with kernel modesetting before ?
    Yes, I have kms enabled by default in the kernel.

    I just now looked to see which firmware it was requesting and it is the 690 CP firmware: platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/RS690_cp.bin

    Previously, I was trying 2.6.32.2, but was having graphical and font corruption issues, making text hard to read and leaving various WM graphics invisible or hard to see.

    EDIT: I was trying to do some more digging via a terminal window, and the moment it finished doing a "cat /var/log/kern.log" the entire screen became corrupted. I've uploaded a photo I took of what it looked like here.
    Last edited by mscdex; 12-21-2009 at 10:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mscdex View Post
    Previously, I was trying 2.6.32.2, but was having graphical and font corruption issues, making text hard to read and leaving various WM graphics invisible or hard to see.

    EDIT: I was trying to do some more digging via a terminal window, and the moment it finished doing a "cat /var/log/kern.log" the entire screen became corrupted. I've uploaded a photo I took of what it looked like here.
    I get exactly the same picture with 2.6.32 on my x1250 (or x1270, i am not sure). Tried to take a look with 2.6.33_rc3, but it gives me a panic with my .config, so i'll just wait for release. It's cool to know that i am not the only one with this problem

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default

    updating to linux-2.6.33-rc3-git2 solved the problem for me.
    Last edited by dolphin77; 01-09-2010 at 04:03 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by NForce View Post
    I get exactly the same picture with 2.6.32 on my x1250 (or x1270, i am not sure). Tried to take a look with 2.6.33_rc3, but it gives me a panic with my .config, so i'll just wait for release. It's cool to know that i am not the only one with this problem
    I think you should be more careful with upgrades. Cause now it's neither fish nor flesh when something have worked and now it doesn't

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Safriuke View Post
    I think you should be more careful with upgrades. Cause now it's neither fish nor flesh when something have worked and now it doesn't
    What upgrades are you talking about? KMS never worked for me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NForce View Post
    What upgrades are you talking about? KMS never worked for me
    then there's no problem and KMS is unnecessary for you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •