Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is antialiasing supposed to work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,269

    Default Is antialiasing supposed to work?

    I was trying the aapoly.c demo from the Red Book for OpenGL 1.1.
    What I see is most certainly not antialiased; there's no change when t is pressed.

    Never having tried it before, has antialiasing ever worked in the FOSS ati drivers?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,269

    Default

    The code for reference:
    http://pastebin.ca/1733034

    On hardware DRI:



    On Mesa software renderer:




    This is on X1300 Pro, Mesa 7.4.4. Anyone know something about this?
    Is this a known missing feature, or should I file a bug?
    Last edited by curaga; 12-31-2009 at 10:26 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    I didn't think AA had been implemented yet. Getting the applications to render properly seems to be higher priority than making them soft and fuzzy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,269

    Default

    Well, considering this is OpenGL 1.1 functionality , and Mesa 7.4.4 advertises 1.3, I thought it should work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    Remember that Mesa is *not* OpenGL, does not use the OpenGL name, and is not certified against OpenGL standards.

    Mesa implements an API "very similar to OpenGL" and exposes GL levels and extensions as guidelines to apps in order to provide the best results. The devs had the option of holding back higher GL levels and extensions until every corner case was implemented and confirmed to be working correctly, but that would have only made the user experience a *lot* worse with no obvious benefit.

    I have updated the RadeonFeature wiki page to add a row for anti-aliasing. I left everything as UNKNOWN for now - AA might have been enabled on older chips, not sure.

    Not sure if it's worth filing a bug on this - if one of the devs comes back and says "yes" then go ahead, but otherwise the wiki page should be enough to track the status.
    Last edited by bridgman; 12-31-2009 at 11:48 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,269

    Default

    Ok.

    I do disagree that AA is a corner case, many people would use it if it only were available

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    Agreed; I wasn't actually referring to AA as a corner case but the logic is the same whether we are talking about a feature like AA or something that apps rarely use (eg the noise functions in GLSL). Either GL levels are advertised to provide the best user experience, or they are advertised on the basis of strict compliance.

    The devs are going with "best user experience", which seems right to me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    629

    Default

    GL1.1 polygon AA is a rarely used feature known not to work in all circumstances, it's deprecated in OpenGL 3.0 and removed in OpenGL 3.1. Modern AA used in games is often referred to as multisampling or MSAA and it's part of OpenGL 1.4, but the GL specification does not necessarily require the number of samples to be greater than 1, meaning that MSAA is not mandatory.

    Of course, getting things to work first and then speeding them up has higher priority than eye-candy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    448

    Wink Anti-alising?!

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I have updated the RadeonFeature wiki page to add a row for anti-aliasing. I left everything as UNKNOWN for now - AA might have been enabled on older chips, not sure.
    What is "alising", and why are you against it ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    It's... um... kind of like aliasing...

    Fixed, thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •