Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 42

Thread: Ubuntu 32-bit, 32-bit PAE, 64-bit Benchmarks

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Can anyone explain the results of the 64-bit Postmark test?

    I think the explanation of the Apache test results is related.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Posts
    115

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n0nsense
    There is a new writer at anand, he using Arch for reviews.
    And I totally agree with "'Ubuntu this, Ubuntu that'.
    Michael promised Sabayon review this week.
    Well I must say it was a pleasant surprise, although I'm not much of a
    gamer - it's nice to see linux coverage on major sites like AnandTech.
    Especially considering their quasi-scientific battery usage test with
    xf86-video-ati driver comparing to Windows Catalyst Powerplay goodness.
    On Ubuntu, ofcourse

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman
    do it yourself :P
    Why, ofcourse! I'll push some ads too while I'm at it.
    All jokes aside, there is a Gentoo x64 installation pending for me
    I thought I might give it a try and ask Michael to do it for us,
    considering 'vi du vizit Phoronix and vi du not blok ze ads'.

    In my humble opinion there is little sense in doing all that Michael
    does if you can't have comparable results. I know it all gets down to
    out-of-box experience, but AnandTech took the same route with battery
    tests and it didn't bode well for GNU/Linux. At all.

    Cheers!

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxjacques View Post
    Can anyone explain the results of the 64-bit Postmark test?

    I think the explanation of the Apache test results is related.
    Apache result is indeed strange... the test uses the prefork mpm with 100 concurrent request so apache spawns about the same number of processes, but it's nowhere near to putting pressure to the VM (plus apache should use zero-copy sendfile for static content).
    My sheevaplug with a tuned apache easily outperforms that CD2 in 32bit mode...
    Another slight problem with this (local) ab test is that basically one core is lost to ab itself.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by clavko View Post
    I know it all gets down to
    out-of-box experience, but AnandTech took the same route with battery
    tests and it didn't bode well for GNU/Linux. At all.

    Cheers!
    LOL, so at anandtech they found out what most of us already know:

    We were left with running the proprietary fglxr 8.600 driver, and while it worked fine in general we had problems with DVD playback. VLC repeatedly crashed during our benchmarks, sometimes after a few minutes, sometimes after 50 minutes. Eventually, we decided to uninstall the proprietary ATI driver and test out the open-source MESA driver. Surprisingly, the open-source driver actually provided a better experience.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    834

    Default

    I think there is an error in the article, HIGHMEM_4G enables highmem but not PAE. Only HIGHMEM_64G will enable PAE. HIGHMEM_4G performance hit is measurable in some cases, but only significant if the work dataset is larger than lowmem.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    215

    Default

    I've just tested PAE enabled kernel in Kubuntu 9.10 on P4 3GHz (32bit only) with HT and 3GB RAM physical (2,5-2.7GHz logical mapped by BIOS) and I didn't get more logical RAM with PAE - it's the same as without PAE but it looks like running from BIOS to... KDE 4.4b2 (two instances run by two users) takes at least few seconds more with PAE (I haven't measured that precisely).

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    BTW, the article says that the system used for testing has 4GB of RAM, was that with memory mapped over the 4GB line or not? If in doubt, look at the beginning of the dmesg for the e820 map, and look for memory mapped above 0x100000000. This is a detail particularly important for DMA to devices.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    @xeros

    Your bios has to support remapping too.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    @xeros
    Your bios has to support remapping too.
    And the chipset too, and unfortunately Intel did not add support to their desktop chipsets until the i955X and i965 series, so the only option is for the BIOS to free more physical address space below the 4GB line. As you have only 3GB of RAM, this should be easy, try changing some BIOS options (maybe relating to the AGP aperture) or updating the BIOS.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    So is it a 64 bit kernel on 32 bit userland or a 64 bit kernel with 64 bit userland? That makes a world's difference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •