Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: I installed fglrx - what did I do wrong?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    762

    Wink I installed fglrx - what did I do wrong?

    Code:
    eselect opengl set xorg-x11
    emerge -C nvidia-drivers nvidia-settings
    vi /etc/make.conf # set VIDEO="fglrx"
    shutdown -h now
    *you hear noises of a chassis being torn open, of screws being turned, a delighted "whoaah!" as the shiny red object is released from it's package, then another few screws turned and finally a loud *thud* as someone hit his head against the desk*
    Code:
    emerge ati-drivers # complained about kernel options
    cd /usr/src/linux && make menuconfig && make install
    emerge ati-drivers
    eselect opengl set ati
    emerge -avuDNt world # to honor the new USE flags
    shutdown -r now
    so what went wrong? Because - despite what everyone in here keeps saying - it just worked

    Dual-Screen works, I can switch between VTs, I can spawn additional X servers, my composited desktop is stable, the wine games I used to play still work, ...
    I was actually prepared to re-insert the old 7600GT if the drivers don't do, but no.. it works!


    Granted, I had to re-apply some tweaks I made before, just differently:
    - TwinView out, XRandR in. Works fine, I don't have to restart X to plug in the projector any more. \o/
    - re-checked all of mplayer's video out plugins to see which one works best with the new driver. Just as with the 7600GT, VDPAU was unusable.
    - apply a few different tweaks to wine games for a couple of fps. Too much shader-fu and they become CPU-bound, fglrx doesn't seem too strong on GLSL either.


    Now it's not perfect, some 2D operations are slower (as expected), but kde3+fglrx is still faster than kde4+nvidia was. It works, I'm happy, and I can't wait to try the OS drivers in a couple of months (profiling applications is just so much more useful when every part of the system has debugging symbols).
    Until then, I'll just gaze at the beauty of windows games above 800x600@low details.


    weird enough, i noticed that portage carries 9.11 - isn't that supposed to NOT support the 5770? It still worked

    greetings,
    rohcQaH

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    The biggest fault was to buy ATI hardware

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    The biggest fault was to buy ATI hardware
    come one.. nvidia is bankrupt !

    the radeon opensource driver is Impressive!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    .ca
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Is Far Cry(2004) among your wine game by accident?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    762

    Default

    nope, never tried it on wine. I played the first half of that game on windows back then, then I got bored and that was that. Farcry 2 looks beautiful on windows with the new GPU, but that doesn't change it's asinine story (hence, I never got through the game either).

    On Wine, I mostly played guild wars, diablo 2 and torchlight so far. GTA: SA is faster than before, but still waaay slower than on windows (wine bugs). GTA: VC still works fine.

    There are a couple more installed, but I didn't feel like playing them yet.


    @Kano: as I expected it to not work, my expectations might have been met by buying another nvidia chip. true

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by not.sure View Post
    Is Far Cry(2004) among your wine game by accident?
    i can test this for you...

    install and the game works perfect on wine 1.1.35 + catalyst 9.12

    runs very fast to!



    just little problems :

    ass@ass:~/.wine/drive_c/Programme/Ubisoft/Crytek/Far Cry/Bin32$ wine '/home/ass/.wine/drive_c/Programme/Ubisoft/Crytek/Far Cry/Bin32/FarCry.exe'
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33d38c,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33d2c0,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:mixer:ALSA_MixerInit No master control found on HDA ATI HDMI, disabling mixer
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32de64,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32d854,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32d110,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32d1d0,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:devenumEVENUM_ICreateDevEnum_CreateClassEnumerator Category {cc7bfb41-f175-11d1-a392-00e0291f3959} not found
    fixme:devenumEVENUM_ICreateDevEnum_CreateClassEnumerator Category {cc7bfb46-f175-11d1-a392-00e0291f3959} not found
    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x32e6e4,0x00000000), stub!
    fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_CreateQuery (0x19f428) Event query: Unimplemented, but pretending to be supported
    fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_CreateQuery (0x19f428) Event query: Unimplemented, but pretending to be supported
    fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_CreateQuery (0x19f428) Unhandled query type 4
    fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_CreateQuery (0x19f428) Event query: Unimplemented, but pretending to be supported
    fixme:d3d9irect3DShaderValidatorCreate9 stub
    Microsoft (R) D3DX9 Shader Compiler 4.09.00.1126
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation 2002-2003. All rights reserved.

    fixme:d3d9irect3DShaderValidatorCreate9 stub
    compilation succeeded; see $$out.cg
    Profile Option NumTemps= with value 128 is out (12,32) range and was clamped.
    Profile Option NumTemps= with value 128 is out (12,32) range and was clamped.
    fixme:dinput:SysMouseAImpl_Acquire Clipping cursor to (0,0)-(1024,768)
    fixme:dsalsa:IDsDriverBufferImpl_SetVolumePan (0x2bedcd0,0x2bedbd0): stub
    fixme:dinput:SysMouseAImpl_Acquire Clipping cursor to (0,0)-(1024,768)

    Last edited by Qaridarium; 12-31-2009 at 12:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    .ca
    Posts
    399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i can test this for you...

    install and the game works perfect on wine 1.1.35 + catalyst 9.12

    runs very fast to!
    Thanks man.
    (also with nvidia I get a whole crapload of wine error messages, but it works)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto/North Bay Canada
    Posts
    877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    come one.. nvidia is bankrupt !
    oh gimme a break.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L33F3R View Post
    oh gimme a break.
    o yes.... kano: "The biggest fault was to buy ATI hardware "

    my biggest fault was to react on kano.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by not.sure View Post
    Thanks man.
    (also with nvidia I get a whole crapload of wine error messages, but it works)
    hi,,. no problem...

    can you post the nvidia-crapload-of-wine-error-messages ?

    i'm interest in that because i do not have a nvidia-card anymore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •