Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Athlon II Passive cooling?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    in front of my box :p
    Posts
    794

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chefkoch View Post
    I'm pretty sure you can't really kill a cpu by undervolting. You will start getting errors and crashes if you go to low though.
    Yep. It should not harm anything. The voltage the CPU is made/specified for is the Voltage where it is guaranteed by the mfg. that all transistors will shift and switch around. If you lower the voltage the power consumption will drop (I forgot the damn formula with frq. and voltage), without a loss of computing power. What can happen is, that not all transistors will switch and so you will get more or less severe errors. It is a matter of experiment but one should try to set the lowest specified voltage in every case, that should be safe. If your own CPU was produced on a nice day you might be able to go lower, if it was produced on a rainy monday... well. Not much capacity in undervolting.

    Please note that not all BIOSes are genius and so if your box hangs after underclocking or undvervolting (or over~) you will have to reset the BIOS/CMOS by jumper so it will forget the settings a go back to failsafe defaults.
    Some errors will not happen during P.O.S.T. but later when the OS kicks in or if you just stress your CPU. Then you can enter your BIOS setup and regulate the setings back to a safe position.

    more on topic: @ kbios
    If you ever happen to have some spare money, that thing was 35 Euros, in case you live e.g. in the US it should be cheaper (all electronics is more expensive in Europe, don't ask me why).
    Though the boxed coolers aren't that noisy, esp. when you put them to a regulated fan port so it will regulate fan speed according to the temp. sensors. And a phenom cooler should always have the capacity for Athlons.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbios View Post
    http://www.lostcircuits.com/forum/vi...3&t=2703#p4963

    Okay I've found it. I really don't know...
    Ouch: looks like the undervolted IMC state machine is getting confused and committing suicide.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Wow.. that's new to me. I take that back then.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chefkoch View Post
    Wow.. that's new to me. I take that back then.
    News to me too, and I used to work for a company that built chips with IMCs .

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    in front of my box :p
    Posts
    794

    Default

    One should not write long post b4 seeing what other might have posted meantime. :/
    Umm, that sounds really strange that they damaged the IMC. I would not expected that to have happened. Dead IMC p.o.s.t. code. Uh, sound horrible. Just some beeps and a number maybe and then it's over. Maybe someone from AMD could shed some light on it how to damage something by undervolting? Or on this "current sink" thesis from the thread?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,103

    Default

    Looks like he went a little too low with 1.088.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Just received the motherboard and set everything up. Well, it works great! With the Phenom II heatsink and no thermal paste, the Athlon idles (bios) at 50. Can I expect a much better result with some paste? (Just not to open everything up again in vain). Thanks

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbios View Post
    Can I expect a much better result with some paste?
    I would say so, yes. The paste provides for better contact between the heatsink and processor in the event that there are any irregularities on either surface.

    Out of curiosity, why didn't you use it in the first place? Or did I miss something?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Hi, thanks for your reply. Since I am using a Phenom II heatsink (which I previously used on another processor) I have removed the original paste to use a new one. I'll now try putting it on again and post the results.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    You didn't use _any_ paste? Then I'd expect improvements of 10C or even more. Paste is very important.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •