Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ATI R600/R700 Gallium3D Winsys Published

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,645

    Default ATI R600/R700 Gallium3D Winsys Published

    Phoronix: ATI R600/R700 Gallium3D Winsys Published

    When it comes to Gallium3D hardware drivers for ATI Radeon graphics cards, most of the work up to this point has been focused on the R300g driver that is for ATI's older graphics processors up through the R500 / Radeon X1000 series. The Gallium3D R300 DRI support is considered done as is most of the driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzkxOQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Why is it called winsys?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,440

    Default

    It was intended to contain the code specific to a WINdowing SYStem and OS, while the pipe driver was intended to contain the code specific to the GPU.

    http://jrfonseca.blogspot.com/2008/0...roduction.html

    In the case of the Linux/X/Mesa/DRI stack I guess the winsys mostly talks to the drm, and the drm in turn talks to X via the DRI protocol.
    Last edited by bridgman; 01-24-2010 at 09:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    I see. I thought it had something to do with the Winsys company that made graphics cards in the R300 days.

    Phew

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Haha, this isn't a Gallium winsys. This is just some standalone code. Technically, the Radeon DRM winsys in Gallium already can run an r600 with softpipe.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,440

    Default

    Yeah, I guess strictly speaking this is a standalone app which demonstrates Jerome's proposal for how the 6xx/7xx winsys should interact with drm in future, and which draws a couple of rectangles directly rather than processing requests from upper levels of the stack like a real winsys.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default radeonhd.org

    Unrelated to this discussion, but any idea if/when the irc logs at radeonhd.org will start working again?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugmenot View Post
    Unrelated to this discussion, but any idea if/when the irc logs at radeonhd.org will start working again?
    I had no idea they were down (next time please PM me or create a new thread or email me). They should be back up in a few minutes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •