Page 4 of 24 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 240

Thread: Radeon Gallium on ubuntu

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    624

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    R500, Mesa 7.7

    Somebody mentioned 7.7 r300 gallium should be usable. I guess not
    Using r300g from Mesa 7.7 is like eating a two-year-old undercooked pizza. Bon appetit.

    Quote Originally Posted by nhaehnle View Post
    Producing a useful back-trace via gdb would be the most important thing. Looks like you're using a 64 bit system, I don't know if any of the developers is testing this on 64 bit (I'm certainly not). So it might be a rather simple thing that you can fix yourself and provide a patch for.
    I use a 64 bit system exclusively.

    Quote Originally Posted by pejakm View Post
    Tried, and it's pretty much the same: with radeong I get half of the FPS I get with classic driver, playing Counter Strike.
    Wow, I didn't know Counter Strike is working with r300g. Are there any visual errors? If you want some more performance, try the following branch, it's still hot:

    http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~airlied...-buffer-rework

    -Marek

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Srpska Republic, Bosnia&Herzegovina
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eosie View Post
    Wow, I didn't know Counter Strike is working with r300g. Are there any visual errors? If you want some more performance, try the following branch, it's still hot:

    http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~airlied...-buffer-rework
    Didn't notice any visual errors, my brother play games more than I, I'll ask him.

    Thanks for the link, I'll try and post back the results...

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhick View Post
    No? It's working for me here, and has been for a few weeks already.
    It only works when you anable it _after_ logging in though.

    But what's much more awesome: HoN finally started working! Well, kinda. :P
    With Kernel 2.6.33-rc6 and the latest git master checkouts of mesa, libdrm and radeon it finally starts, and I even get to see the main menu and click on things etc. It's all pretty black though.

    As you can see I'm currently updating to the newest HoN (haven't played in a while) so I can try out in-game as well. I don't have much hope though, it's probably gonna die horribly.
    I was testing it with a friend yesterday, and HoN was very close to working. The menu was almost-perfect (all in color, etc), we noticed very few visual bugs, but when we tried to start a game, after the loading bar hit 100% the game bailed out.

    But still, comparing it with your all-black-with-text-on-it screenshot, it's getting there!

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    I can get Yo Frankie! working with very minor glitching.

    Exciting, I know.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [Knuckles] View Post
    I was testing it with a friend yesterday, and HoN was very close to working. The menu was almost-perfect (all in color, etc), we noticed very few visual bugs, but when we tried to start a game, after the loading bar hit 100% the game bailed out.

    But still, comparing it with your all-black-with-text-on-it screenshot, it's getting there!
    Sweet! I long for the day I can finally dump fglrx.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    135

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by madman2k View Post
    git clone git://anongit.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa
    ./autogen.sh
    ./configure --enable-gallium-radeon --with-state-trackers=dri,glx
    cd mesa/lib/gallium/
    ln -s radeong_dri.so r300_dri.so
    export LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH=<PATH TO>/mesa/lib/gallium/

    the applications you start from this console will use gallium now. check with glxinfo for GL2.1

    AFAIK there are no packages yet.
    I make it, but it gives
    OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RS780 9614) 20090101 TCL DRI2
    OpenGL version string: 1.4 (2.0 Mesa 7.8-devel)
    OpenGL extensions:...
    at glxinfo. Also says
    "direct rendering: No"
    with this hack.
    Whats wrong?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    you have to remove fglrx (or workaround its libGL)

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    135

    Default

    I don't have fglrx for the months. And removed it already.
    And I can verify that my libGL is from mesa trunk.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    135

    Default

    I run glxinfo utility with strace and see that:
    open("/home/compile/svn/gallium/lib64/gallium/r600_dri.so", O_RDONLY) = 4
    and doesn't try to open any other r600_dri.so,
    So I think radeong_dri.so initiated successfully but gallium doesn't want to run I think.
    Weird.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    Not so wierd, I think. Nobody has written a Gallium3D driver for 6xx and up yet. Jerome (aka "glisse") has started work on a 600g driver but AFAIK that's it :

    http://jglisse.livejournal.com/2789.html

    The people talking about running the Gallium3D driver here are on 3xx-5xx hardware.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •