Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: r800 in the pipe?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default r800 in the pipe?

    Any information regarding this new chip's chance to get OSS driver and the possibilities of OSS driver development for it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    72

    Default

    http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21566

    But don't expect good 3d support before r600g driver. Initial 3d may come to r600 classic driver, but I'm not sure if it's worth doing it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Thanks for the info. I missed that article. It will be nice to have a more rapidly patched thing for my r800 based than the binary thing, if anything breaks between releases and the distro used.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I'm doing something wrong or that the radeon driver does not support 2D with evergreen GPU?

    Have installed from git all the radeon stuff with all dependencies but xrandr can not set a usable resolution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,799

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blabub View Post
    I'm doing something wrong or that the radeon driver does not support 2D with evergreen GPU?
    That's correct. Right now, only the unaccelerated VESA of FB drivers will work.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Oh, is the git already working with r800 in 2d to a certain extent? Sounds nice!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    That's correct. Right now, only the unaccelerated VESA of FB drivers will work.
    Oh. I was happy too early in my prev reply... ;

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,932

    Default

    Did they get the DVI output working? I thought that only the VGA output was functional?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,516

    Default

    Yes, agd5f got the digital outputs working a couple of weeks ago, although there are still some issues with dual displays. We have been going through the usual IP review and DRM-related sanitizing since then. All of the required changes have been indentified, so the initial code should be out pretty soon.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I'm running arch on my notebook with r800. This repository in the post i will link here worked nicely to get quite recent GIT versions from all the related stuff: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.p...713083#p713083

    It's working okay, proper resolution, X autorecognized things. It didn't eat all the power so quickly, i could use it on battery for a longer time (didnt test it fully, but seemed like it would last 1+ hour if i dont watch videos)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •