Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Google To Switch To EXT4, Hires Ted To Code

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,469

    Default Google To Switch To EXT4, Hires Ted To Code

    Phoronix: Google To Switch To EXT4, Hires Ted To Code

    Google is in the process of migrating their EXT2 file-systems over to the modern EXT4 file-system. This was brought up in a JFS benchmarking discussion...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=Nzg4MA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Where did Ted work before?

    Novell?

    Edit: Nevermind =)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theodore_Ts%27o
    Last edited by Louise; 01-14-2010 at 11:17 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Linux Foundation, apparently.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    126

    Thumbs down

    Google's Michael Rubin shared that they chose EXT4 after benchmarking it as well as XFS and JFS (possibly with our Phoronix Test Suite carrying out some of the testing).
    What a shameless plug… Possibly? Really?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    [[citation needed]]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apaige View Post
    What a shameless plug… Possibly? Really?
    Keep reading the site and eventually, the plug for PTS in every other article won't even make you blink.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by apaige View Post
    What a shameless plug… Possibly? Really?
    Google does use PTS...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    you all realize this is great new right? Google is knockin' 'em out the park lately.

    w/r/t PTS, it's a sister (or some other more appropriate close relation) project. Calling any reference to it a 'shameless plug' is strikingly myopic.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Google does use PTS...
    well - you guys know what that means ?

    it can't be too bad

    great work on PTS guys !

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Google does use PTS...
    It would have carried a bit more weight had you mentionned that in the part I quoted. Also, [citation needed]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •