Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Fan Speed Control HD 4870?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    I'm just saying that a *lot* of work went into the fglrx power management, and that even matching that with the open source drivers is going to take an equal amount of work, it's not something they can just "keep".

    If the radeon man page doesn't mention the power saving options, then either your radeon driver is too old (the options were added in April 2009) or your man page has somehow become out of sync with the driver. Can you check the version/age of your radeon driver ?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    You need xf86-video-ati from git master for the power management options. 6.12.x doesn't have them.
    Thanks. That man page does include the options.

    Can't build the driver though:

    ./autogen.sh
    autoreconf: Entering directory `.'
    autoreconf: configure.ac: not using Gettext
    autoreconf: running: aclocal
    autoreconf: configure.ac: tracing
    autoreconf: configure.ac: not using Libtool
    autoreconf: running: /usr/bin/autoconf
    configure.ac:46: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_DISABLE_STATIC
    If this token and others are legitimate, please use m4_pattern_allow.
    See the Autoconf documentation.
    configure.ac:47: error: possibly undefined macro: AC_PROG_LIBTOOL
    autoreconf: /usr/bin/autoconf failed with exit status: 1

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    Do you have the libtool package ? That's what seems to contain those macros...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Do you have the libtool package ? That's what seems to contain those macros...
    Yup, libtool was needed.

    But now `configure` blows up:

    ./configure: line 11942: syntax error near unexpected token `XINERAMA,'
    ./configure: line 11942: `XORG_DRIVER_CHECK_EXT(XINERAMA, xineramaproto)'

    syntax error? C'mon guys how can this code even be checked in?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    I'm guessing you haven't built a video driver on that system before ?

    Not sure, but I think the syntax error there means you're missing the xorg-dev package (header files etc..).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I'm guessing you haven't built a video driver on that system before ?

    Not sure, but I think the syntax error there means you're missing the xorg-dev package (header files etc..).
    Correct. Once I installed the missing packages it built cleanly. Now to see how it works.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nbi1 View Post
    Correct. Once I installed the missing packages it built cleanly. Now to see how it works.
    It doesn't because this Radeon driver expects X server 1.7.4 not the 1.6.5 currently being used. Argh.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    As a *minimum* you'd like to see the same behaviour as fglrx ? Geez, you don't want much

    User modesetting is fine. Do you have Option "ForceLowPowerMode" "on" and Option "DynamicPM" "on" ? If not, add them to the device section of your xorg.conf.

    Running "man radeon" will give you more info about the options.
    Now that X has been upgraded and the new driver installed I'm not seeing any improvement with these options.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,375

    Default

    There is no xserver version dependency. What you need is a newer xorg macros package.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    There is no xserver version dependency. What you need is a newer xorg macros package.
    What exactly is the name of the package you think I'm missing?

    I installed a bunch of packages per the dialogue with Bridgman and the driver corresponding to the git master built cleanly and is now installed.
    But the problems I initially reported still persist.

    Are you saying that yet another package is needed to resolve these problems?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •