Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: ATI mobility radeon hd 5730 driver...

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default ATI mobility radeon hd 5730 driver...

    Has anyone seen anything about when/where a driver that works with the ATI mobility radeon hd 5730 graphics device will be available?

    At this point, I could care less about any acceleration - I just want to get the native 1600x800 resolution for my laptop's screen. If anyone can point me in the right direction to accomplish this, that would be a great help.

    I honestly can't believe a company would sell a brand new product, and yet provide absolutely zero driver support from their own website. Just check their website and try to find any drivers for the mobility radeon of any 5xxx version (for notebooks). It isn't even available for Windows - instead you get a list of links to companies that make laptops.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeuw View Post
    I honestly can't believe a company would sell a brand new product, and yet provide absolutely zero driver support from their own website. Just check their website and try to find any drivers for the mobility radeon of any 5xxx version (for notebooks). It isn't even available for Windows - instead you get a list of links to companies that make laptops.
    That's because you're not an ATI customer. You're a customer of whatever vendor sold you the product.

    That's the big difference between NV and ATI when it comes to product support. NV supports their GPUs and makes (sometimes non-existent) vendor support irrelevant. ATI, on the other hand, wants you to get support from your vendor. If you want Linux on your laptop in combination with an ATI video card then you should pressure the laptop maker to provide you with such a product.

    After the laughter subsides that is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Well, that may be how AMD/ATI wants to do things, but that doesn't change the fact that they made the hardware, and IMHO, they should therefore be able to support it. But whatever...


    Anyway...I've got native resolution working after a bit of monkeying around and installing the fglrx drivers. Now I've got the "AMD Unspported hardware" watermark - any clue how to remove this? I've tried the solution here: http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showp...&postcount=265, but that doesn't seem to make a difference. Does it matter what package I extract the control and signature file from?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Did you try 10-2?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Yeah...it still gives me the watermark.

    As an added bonus, as soon as I enter my password to login to kde, the kde initialization splash freezes. The system doesn't crash though, so I'm able to switch to a terminal to reset things and reboot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Add to that, the colour depth is much lower once fglrx is enabled. Nothing in the Xorg log or whatever seems to indicate that anything but 24-bit depth is being used. But the default KDE background looks quite smooth in the vesa driver, while the fglrx makes what should be smooth gradient colours look like thick bands of different shades.

    Would be of any use to post my Xorg logs here?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeuw View Post
    Add to that, the colour depth is much lower once fglrx is enabled. Nothing in the Xorg log or whatever seems to indicate that anything but 24-bit depth is being used. But the default KDE background looks quite smooth in the vesa driver, while the fglrx makes what should be smooth gradient colours look like thick bands of different shades.
    i'm using my 5650 with 10.1. I suppose it will work better with kde. 10.2 seems to break things...even if they were broken to some extent before...anyway. i already reverted to 10.1.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krionius View Post
    i'm using my 5650 with 10.1. I suppose it will work better with kde. 10.2 seems to break things...even if they were broken to some extent before...anyway. i already reverted to 10.1.
    Right, I'm at the same point as you...using 10.1. It works...quite well so far (with minimal testing of desktop effects etc.). I'd just like to get rid of the watermark...seems kind of redundant to have a message saying that the ATI graphics is unsupported...since that seems to be the experience I've had with all ATI graphics devices I've had to work with (this is my fourth...I was foolish enough to think things were better these days).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43

    Default

    That's awesome - I had to change the last ')' to 'done', but other than that, it worked. I now have 4 square inches of my screen back.

    Now...if only I could get the colour depth work right.

    For reference, here's the script posted in that forum:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    DRIVER=/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
    for x in $(objdump -d $DRIVER|awk '/call/&&/EnableLogo/{print "\\x"$2"\\x"$3"\\x"$4"\\x"$5"\\x"$6
    }'); do
     echo found $x
     sed -i "s/$x/\x90\x90\x90\x90\x90/g" $DRIVER
    done

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    That's my script, there is no new line before }.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •