Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 96

Thread: r300/500 rant

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    997

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crumja View Post
    bridgman is right. Nvidia's 71xx series of proprietary drivers have long since stopped support for the latest Xservers. This means old cards circa Geforce 2 don't work. If it weren't for nouveau, these cards would be nigh useless with the latest distros. Now the same slow/dropped support is happening with the 96xx series of drivers.

    At least with ATI, OSS drivers will ensure that your card doesn't turn into a useless brick. Gallium3D and KMS support means that your card will take advantage of hardware acceleration on video, SVG, OpenCL, and other yet undefined future standards. I'm very satisfied with everything ATI has done.
    You do? What if your card is older than R300? There seems to be 'uncertain' support in older ATI cards. I thought Ubuntu was one of the 'supported' distros. How come you can't boot up in 9.10 with a Radeon 9000 (RV250) card? You have to become a developer and edit xorg.conf to obtain 3D. Else, you have to disable 3D (Desktop Effects). Karmic is the latest release so the choices are: 1) edit xorg.conf and hope you can figure out what settings are needed; 2)install latest Ubuntu version (Alpha) and deal with any bugs; 3)switch to a different distro and pray it works; 4)Install an older release

    Is that supposed to indicate support? That you could try a bunch of configurations until you find one that works?!?

    At least, the comparative Nvidia cards work when the driver is installed correctly and the support is consistent.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Panix View Post
    You do? What if your card is older than R300? There seems to be 'uncertain' support in older ATI cards. I thought Ubuntu was one of the 'supported' distros. How come you can't boot up in 9.10 with a Radeon 9000 (RV250) card?
    because that is a bug in Ubuntu 9.10, smart ass? As you might have found out instead of complaining, the OSS driver stack is being rewritten right now. And rewriting stuff always itroduces bugs. I think Ubuntu 8.04 was the last version which had purley the old school stack, so try that...

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Würzburg, Germany
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    DirtyHairy; you mentioned DynamicClocks, I think that was replaced a while ago with three new options :

    ClockGating (new name for DynamicClocks)
    ForceLowPowerMode (reduces engine clock and restrices PCIE lanes)
    DynamicPM (further reduces engine clock when display blanked via DPMS)

    Are you using all three of these options ? It's possible the driver is rejecting the DynamicClocks option - check your log.
    Hi Bridgman!

    Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try those options when I find time. The log indicates that DynamicGating is active:
    Code:
    Static power management enable success
    Dynamic clock gating enable success
    However, if those options exist, then it would be wise to document them in the radeon manpage; the current one (I'm on 6.12.4) still only lists DynamicClocks.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    39

    Default Debian Lenny

    Another thread, same story: I use Debian Lenny, catalyst still works for my X1600 mobility, temperature and fan are a lot better than any recent linux distribution with open source drivers. I wouldn't need any performance for my driver, only low power usage. I'm sure one day I'll get it from the open source driver, but until then it's Lenny for me! Not everybody needs the newest and greatest (and most unstable )

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DirtyHairy View Post
    However, if those options exist, then it would be wise to document them in the radeon manpage; the current one (I'm on 6.12.4) still only lists DynamicClocks.
    well actually thats not so important as with kms you will get dynamic power management: http://www.rojtberg.net/366/power-ma...eon-on-ubuntu/

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DirtyHairy View Post
    Hi Bridgman!

    Thanks for the suggestion, I'll try those options when I find time. The log indicates that DynamicGating is active:
    Code:
    Static power management enable success
    Dynamic clock gating enable success
    However, if those options exist, then it would be wise to document them in the radeon manpage; the current one (I'm on 6.12.4) still only lists DynamicClocks.
    The man page usually matches the driver pretty well, so it's likely that your driver code is too old to have the newer power saving features.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madman2k View Post
    well actually thats not so important as with kms you will get dynamic power management: http://www.rojtberg.net/366/power-ma...eon-on-ubuntu/
    I'd like to see some benchmark results. On my NC8430 laptop I could use as a temperature proxy the ACPI fan speed, which was 55% on fglrx, 70% on "old" open driver (with DynamicClocks) and 80% on first KMS efforts, after which I have stayed away from new distributions...

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    Looks like the power management code went in after the 6.12 branch was created (the branch is based on 6.12.2), so you won't have that code in 6.12.4 either. Check to see if your distro has a package available to give you a newer version of the driver built from master rather than the 6.12 branch.

  9. #39

    Default

    bridgman, I have 2 questions:

    1. Does KMS-based power saving apply to desktop cards or is it a feature just for mobile cards?

    2. Will the amount of power saved match fglrx's powerplay?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crumja View Post
    1. Does KMS-based power saving apply to desktop cards or is it a feature just for mobile cards?
    Both are supported, however, older desktop cards tended to only have one power state.

    Quote Originally Posted by crumja View Post
    2. Will the amount of power saved match fglrx's powerplay?
    At the moment it does not match, but eventually we hope to match the proprietary driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •