Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Suspend/Hibernate not working with ATI HD4650/fglrx

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Suspend/Hibernate not working with ATI HD4650/fglrx

    Anybody had luck with suspend working properly with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 in Ubuntu 9.10 (64-bit) ?

    I installed ATI Catalyst 10.1 from ATI website. But, as of now, machine suspends but cannot wake up..

    I end up with blank screen. Mouse is responsive. I can change to virtual terminal and I see the following error printing in an endless loop:

    EXT4-fs error (device sda5): ext4_find_entry: reading directory #81922 offset 0
    (/dev/sda5 is root partition, /dev/sda6 is home partition)

    I posted this problem at Ubuntu forums (link)

    I'm willing to troubleshoot, but I don't know where to start and I don't know if this is a fixable problem..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toulouse (France)
    Posts
    43

    Default

    hi,

    I have a hd4650 with fglx. I tried suspend with 10.1 last month and it worked like a charm.
    I had lots of problems with older versions (last try was with ~ 9.6 ).
    I upgraded fglrx to 10.2, and since I had only once the pc locked while it tried to suspend.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi Jery,

    what distribution are you using?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toulouse (France)
    Posts
    43

    Default

    the same as you Ubuntu 9.10 64bits

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    That's odd.. suspend/resume is working out of box? did you do any modifications? By the way, what is your laptop brand/model? Mine is HP Pavilion DV7 2180us, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9000(2.00GHz) 17.3" 6GB Memory 500GB HDD ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650

    In this case, is it possible that another hardware in my laptop is interfering with suspend/resume?

    Ok, so I know that suspend/resume can work in my computer, but i don't know where to start, what to tweak..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toulouse (France)
    Posts
    43

    Default

    sorry, my mistake ... I don't hav a laptop, but a desktop machine
    so the two hd4650 are not the same at all !

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •