Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: KDE4 memory usage vs KDE3 => benchmark ?

  1. #11

    Default

    I'm using Fedora 13, but both KDE3 and KDE4 are compiled and installed manually.

    I hate Fedora's default GCC flags, they are insane.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by birdie View Post
    OK, here are the real world results:

    Memory usage before and after the start of:

    Code:
    KDE3:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       3942172     383688    3558484          0       3928     101748
    Mem:       3942172     576068    3366104          0      30376     199300
    
    Total: 187MB
    
    KDE4
    
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       3942172     386824    3555348          0       4660     10475
    Mem:       3942172    1073012    2869160          0      24796     605136
    
    Total: 670MB
    Both environments were run with an empty, new profiles, and four applications which I just ran and kept open:

    Akregator, Konsole, Konqueror and Kolorpaint.

    Now, don't tell me KDE4 doesn't need a huge optimization.
    congratulation, you just measured crap.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,673

    Default

    If you know php just fix pts.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    303

    Default

    I run KDE4 on my grandparents computer which they use for email internet etc... and KDE4 is definitly less optimal than KDE3

    It shouldn't require more than a 2Ghz celeron and 512Mb ram to run the desktop itself snappily (which it doesn't)


    I still run KDE3 on my laptop from the kde-sunset overlay on gentoo just because I like it that much more interface wise... some of the utilities are more polished in KDE4 but meh... I dislike the whole UI rendering and caching mentality they are using it makes it feel sluggish IMO compared to KDE3 it could be some other completion that causes it but that is what comes to mind.

    If you think KDE4 uses less ram I don't know what you must have been smoking... its bigger and slower. The exception to that might be quad core desktops with Nvidia graphics there I can see how it might be faster.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arctic circle, Finland
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Code:
    free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           496        484         12          0         12        191
    -/+ buffers/cache:        279        217
    Swap:         1027          4       1022
    That's memory usage of kubuntu lucid on old thinkpad T40. One of the biggest memory hog is chromium browser. after closing that:

    Code:
     free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           496        372        124          0         10        174
    -/+ buffers/cache:        187        309
    Swap:         1027         11       1016
    So memory usage drops from 279MB to 187MB only closing browser with one tab open.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cb88 View Post
    I run KDE4 on my grandparents computer which they use for email internet etc... and KDE4 is definitly less optimal than KDE3

    It shouldn't require more than a 2Ghz celeron and 512Mb ram to run the desktop itself snappily (which it doesn't)


    I still run KDE3 on my laptop from the kde-sunset overlay on gentoo just because I like it that much more interface wise... some of the utilities are more polished in KDE4 but meh... I dislike the whole UI rendering and caching mentality they are using it makes it feel sluggish IMO compared to KDE3 it could be some other completion that causes it but that is what comes to mind.

    If you think KDE4 uses less ram I don't know what you must have been smoking... its bigger and slower. The exception to that might be quad core desktops with Nvidia graphics there I can see how it might be faster.
    and you turned off composite and nepomuk/strigi of course ...?

  8. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by birdie View Post
    I'm using Fedora 13, but both KDE3 and KDE4 are compiled and installed manually.

    I hate Fedora's default GCC flags, they are insane.
    Last time I tried Fedora had Gnome parts running in KDE (afaik there was also Metacity installed for some reason), so memory usage was higher - KDE libs + Gnome libs etc.

  9. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kraftman View Post
    Last time I tried Fedora had Gnome parts running in KDE (afaik there was also Metacity installed for some reason), so memory usage was higher - KDE libs + Gnome libs etc.
    I don't run Fedora per se.

    And trust me I don't have any pieces of Gnome here.

    Code:
    [birdie@localhost ~]$ rpm -qa | grep -i gnome | wc
          0       0       0

  10. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    congratulation, you just measured crap.
    I hope you can put your money where your mouth is.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •