Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Xinerama, xrandr, fglrx - what is the deal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Xinerama, xrandr, fglrx - what is the deal

    I currently have two monitors configured with Xinerama running on a single HD4870, as it is now each time I start a GTK-app i get this
    Code:
    Xlib:  extension "RANDR" missing on display ":0.0".
    Same thing happens if I try to use xrandr to do anything.

    My question is if it is possible to use xrandr when xinerama is enabled, if it's not possible how do I get rid of that error message.
    Is there any other tricks I should know about when it comes to dual monitors and xinerama?

    Here is my xorg.conf http://dpaste.com/169872/, any tips on other things I can change is appreciated .

    xorg-server-1.6.5-r1 ati-drivers-10.2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    784

    Default

    xrandr and xinerama-style multihead are incompatible. My suggestion: get rid of Xinerama.

    You're treating both monitors as separate devices, then you're using a kludge called Xinerama to pretend they're on a single GPU. That's neither fast nor bug-free.

    Since both screens already run on a single GPU, you can just kill Xinerama and use randr to configure multiple outputs.
    Just turn Xinerama off and remove the second device/screen/monitor from xorg.conf, adjust ServerLayout accordingly.


    Or is there a good reason why you need zaphod + Xinerama?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    xrandr and xinerama-style multihead are incompatible. My suggestion: get rid of Xinerama.

    You're treating both monitors as separate devices, then you're using a kludge called Xinerama to pretend they're on a single GPU. That's neither fast nor bug-free.

    Since both screens already run on a single GPU, you can just kill Xinerama and use randr to configure multiple outputs.
    Just turn Xinerama off and remove the second device/screen/monitor from xorg.conf, adjust ServerLayout accordingly.


    Or is there a good reason why you need zaphod + Xinerama?
    I have no good reasons to why I need Xinerama, I was under the impression that you needed Xinerama to have two monitors and not having them in clone mode. Will my window manager (xmonad) work in the same way without Xinerama?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Is this what you had in mind?

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier   "aticonfig Layout"
            Screen     0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
            ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/terminus"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/dina"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
            FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/anonymous-pro"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
            Option       "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
            Driver      "fglrx"
            Option      "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "on"
            BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
            Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
            Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport 0 0
                    Depth    24
                    Modes    "1680x1050" "1440x900"
                    Virtual  3120 1050
            EndSubSection
    EndSection

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    784

    Default

    I haven't used monad, but any sane window manager will.

    With XRandR, the X server will still "speak" the Xinerama protocol to notify Xinerama-aware applications about your screen boundaries. It just won't use Xinerama internally any more.

    from a quick glance, that xorg.conf you posted looks good. If it doesn't work, post your xorg.0.log

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I have started X with the config above and added the second monitor with
    [/code]xrandr --auto --output CRT1 --mode 1440x900 --left-of DFP1[/code]

    how do i make it save this setup? I don't want to run that each time i start x

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Everything seems to work, added the xrandr line to .xinitrc
    now only the last warnings
    Code:
    (WW) Warning, couldn't open module dri
    (WW) Warning, couldn't open module dri2
    (WW) Falling back to old probe method for fglrx
    (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@1:0:1) found

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    784

    Default

    yes, .xinitrc or similar is unfortunately the best place for that.

    I don't think those warnings matter. Does everything work?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Everything except games that are not aware of xrandr yet

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    What happens with those games?

    Also, you can make those xrandr changes permanent in your xorg.conf file instead of adding it to your .xinitrc, if you want. You would need two monitors sections, one with the Identifier DFP1 and one with the Identifier CRT1. Something like:

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier "CRT1"
            Option "RightOf" "DFP1"
            Option "PreferredMode" "1440x900"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier "DFP1"
    EndSection

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •