Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: LL_10.04 has **not** exited low.beta status

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default LL_10.04 has **not** exited low.beta status

    Gents:

    Running 965-AMD/MSI-gd70/9800gtx/6-G Crucial/Seagate&WD SATA

    I observe that my x64LL_10.04...LTS install has continued unstable and serendipitous function for the last week! As for all previous weeks since release. By that term unstable I mean one of the many primary system_functions ( printer, WCam, sound, DVD_play etc ) has spontaneously failed to perform or be recognized on-boot. Invariably successful response come&goes depending on the latest update!

    One never knows for sure.... My judgement is that such behavior is to be expected in a low_beta release intended for non-drop.dead & secondary clientèle functions. We are the "practice_round" so to speak and our opportunity costs are to valued at $0.0 rather than at some low multiple of kit cost.

    I wonder when LL_10.04 is supposed to work ? I guess the day it's delivered to IBM desktops.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    Have you filed a good bug report ? A lot of these problems only show up on specific systems so unless you file bug reports with enough details for the distro folks to reproduce they won't ever get seen or fixed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    349

    Default

    I don't think Canonical ever promised their LTS releases were more stable or reliable or functional than any other release. They just promised to "support" it for a longer interval than the others.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default Insufficient tech skills

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Have you filed a good bug report ? A lot of these problems only show up on specific systems so unless you file bug reports with enough details for the distro folks to reproduce they won't ever get seen or fixed.
    I don't judge my comp-tech skills up to the task of completing a formal bug_report. I have looked and bug_reports appear very demanding. But, that's not all.

    The switching for tasks ... between function/non_function ... is so consistent per update that I can only conclude the Ubuntu coders are hashing_thru some pre-determined and conflicted set of OS options. Really the tasks have been back-and-forth a half_dozen times since April. Guess I expected this sort of experimentation to be settled & completed before the code was released !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    A couple of questions :

    - how are you going to get good at filing bug reports if you don't start doing it ?

    - if the problem is so obvious, do you think the distro team would have shipped it ? If not, then what explanation is there other than there being a system-specific issue that causes it to work on the tested systems but not on yours ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    370

    Default

    OH no! logic!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default logic is a subset of truth

    Quote Originally Posted by benmoran View Post
    OH no! logic!
    I feel no need or desire to perform trouble-shooting methods on Ubuntu code. Head-beating against a wall ... that's a young mans combinatoric logic game.

    These days I stay more to the "beauty" end of intuitive truth. I'm not going to get into the conflict. I **do** run and submit admin-->system--> tests that on occasion connect with the issues I've raised.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    370

    Default

    If you really don't have time, then perhaps you should opt for paid support? That way you have an outlet.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default paid MAC

    Quote Originally Posted by benmoran View Post
    If you really don't have time, then perhaps you should opt for paid support? That way you have an outlet.
    Now that pitch misses the strike_zone. If I could afford to pay for software support I'd ... run MAC kit and OS. Wouldn't every desktop ??

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    12

    Default

    run MAC kit and OS. Wouldn't every desktop ??
    Strike two !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •