Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Linux 2.6.34-rc4 Kernel Pulls In Two Weeks Of Work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,644

    Default Linux 2.6.34-rc4 Kernel Pulls In Two Weeks Of Work

    Phoronix: Linux 2.6.34-rc4 Kernel Pulls In Two Weeks Of Work

    For those not paying close attention to the development cycle for the Linux 2.6.34 kernel, two weeks have passed since the Linux 2.6.34-rc3 release (compared to the usual weekly -rc versions), but today 2.6.34-rc4 is hitting the hands of testers. It's taken longer to get the fourth release candidate of 2.6.34 out the door due to a "really annoying" VM regression that took some days to resolve...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODE0Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,615

    Default

    I did not test rc4 yet but rc3-git10. That kernel had problems on shutdown and somebody reported problems with suspend.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    It would seem that RC4 also includes HDMI Audio for the R700 series.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    821

    Default

    Seems that all the shiny new evergreen code got not pulled in.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    401

    Default

    http://www.phoromatic.com/kernel-tracker.php is a nice web page!

    Please, add the unit for each benchmark (MB/s, fps, etc), otherwise it is hard to tell if there is an improvement or a regression.

    .

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sabriah View Post
    http://www.phoromatic.com/kernel-tracker.php is a nice web page!

    Please, add the unit for each benchmark (MB/s, fps, etc), otherwise it is hard to tell if there is an improvement or a regression.

    .
    Uhhh it already does on each graph and even has an arrow indicating what way the results are better.. And with the table at the top and elsewhere the units are already taken into account when figuring out percent gains or losses, etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    629

    Default

    Hi Michael,

    please fix the following in the text:

    Many other bugs have also been squashed in 2.6.24-rc4 and a new network driver has been added.
    should read

    Many other bugs have also been squashed in 2.6.34-rc4 and a new network driver has been added.
    thanks !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    291

    Default

    I had the shutdown issues as well on an gateway nv53 laptop

    Also the ati driver was very unstable 2D and 3d bother had problems even after reemerging world.... I moved back to -r2 and its all fine will test -r4 probably

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default

    I see a few changes for radeon drm. Are these the patches for power management?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    401

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Uhhh it already does on each graph and even has an arrow indicating what way the results are better.. And with the table at the top and elsewhere the units are already taken into account when figuring out percent gains or losses, etc.
    Yes I saw them on the graphs, and the arrows are an excellent idea too. That is great, but if the table would have the units too it would be more standalone. Also, I like to print the just the table for easy reading. If it doesn't fit in the left table column, one could add it in the pop-up text, like for Apache Benchmark where it now says "Static Web Page Serving".

    Just an idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •