Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 10.4 in Lucid - Screen Flicker

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default 10.4 in Lucid - Screen Flicker

    Ive always used the proprietary driver in Ubuntu.
    with the Catalyst 9.xx Drivers i had to run:
    sudo aticonfig --set-pcs-str="DDX,EnableRandr12,FALSE" in a terminal to stop the flicker.
    With the 10.xx Drivers though this has no effect.
    Anyone any ideas how I can stop this annoying flicker?

    ps. Using the HD2400 Driver on a 1680x1050 monitor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    I would try the other connector. I had flickering only on one of em.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Kano...
    Thanx for your reply.
    What do you mean the other connector?
    Were and how?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    On your gfx card of course!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Sorry i`m a bit green and never messed with the inside of my compt.
    Are you saying there are 2 connectors on my graphics card and to swap the connections over?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ive just checked and as far as i can see there is only one connector on my Gfx card. Could you be more specific as to what i do.
    Bear in mind though that i`m a bit of a technophobe!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Then take a picture. Also from the connectors of your monitor.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    There is 2 connectors for my monitor and at the back of the comp. But the plug configuration is different, so I don`t have the right lead.
    Is that what you mean?
    Would it be worth investing in a new lead?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Most likely you need to use a dvi cable. Usally the connector is white and has more pins than the vga one.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Kano.. your a star.
    Just gone out and bought a DVI cable and problem solved.
    Ive had this problem since I bought this system from Dell 2 years ago.
    Should have come to this forum sooner.
    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •