Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: amazing improvement in wine support and OSS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,186

    Default amazing improvement in wine support and OSS

    guyz, i tried to run the most important game for me in wine using the OSS drivers, well i was actually surprised that it almost works, hell nice peeps.

    aka
    * the game load perfectly fine, yes no sigsegv, no nothing
    * beside the ovbious the framerate is very playable, maybe 40ish fps
    * i try to test everything in game and it works, again beside the ovbious

    here is the proof
    http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/192/snapshot6o.png

    now if someone what means the error in console, maybe fixing that the game can run just fine

    awesome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrch2k8 View Post
    guyz, i tried to run the most important game for me in wine using the OSS drivers, well i was actually surprised that it almost works, hell nice peeps.

    aka
    * the game load perfectly fine, yes no sigsegv, no nothing
    * beside the ovbious the framerate is very playable, maybe 40ish fps
    * i try to test everything in game and it works, again beside the ovbious

    here is the proof
    http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/192/snapshot6o.png

    now if someone what means the error in console, maybe fixing that the game can run just fine

    awesome
    watch this: http://phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23274

    radeon beat fglrx..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrch2k8 View Post
    guyz, i tried to run the most important game for me in wine using the OSS drivers, well i was actually surprised that it almost works, hell nice peeps.

    aka
    * the game load perfectly fine, yes no sigsegv, no nothing
    * beside the ovbious the framerate is very playable, maybe 40ish fps
    * i try to test everything in game and it works, again beside the ovbious

    here is the proof
    http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/192/snapshot6o.png

    now if someone what means the error in console, maybe fixing that the game can run just fine

    awesome
    Lol, wut, why you have put swastika on KDE menu button?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    Lol, wut, why you have put swastika on KDE menu button?
    jajaja mybad im trying a theme set of windows 7 for kde in my rig rigth now, so i forgot i have those icons left. is not the best way to introduce linux to windows ppl, but most of my clients are really under average joe's so they need something familiar if you dont want to produce them a stroke or and CVA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jrch2k8 View Post
    now if someone what means the error in console, maybe fixing that the game can run just fine
    If you're using r600, try removing libtxc_dxtn or disabling S3TC texture compression in driconf.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    If you're using r600, try removing libtxc_dxtn or disabling S3TC texture compression in driconf.
    you were rigth
    http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/2240/snapshot7lk.png
    the game is playable just filter texture and advanced shader arent working, but is quite an a achievment

    thx, men. in the console is another error which i think is stencil extension is not hardware accelerated

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    That's cool

    I'm quite surprised how well things are working with Wine too, but on the Intel side.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,186

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    That's cool

    I'm quite surprised how well things are working with Wine too, but on the Intel side.
    yeah i agree, is impressive that such a young driver that is not even full accelerated or optimized or feature complete can handle already some commercial games like lineage2 in wine without core glitches (i mean all the goodies in fglrx like the famous sigsegv ), ofc it still missing some extensions here and there but like i said is already playable, just that is impresive

    keep the good work mesa/OSS ppl you are doing great

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Toulouse (France)
    Posts
    41

    Default civ4 is near to be playable !

    hey I've upgraded to lucid a few weeks ago, and tonight I've tested xorg edgers repository.
    I'm able to start civ4 (under wine of course !), and the perf are goog enough with an hd4650. the only problem is that the main screen is black

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •