Page 11 of 18 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 180

Thread: More Radeon Power Management Improvements

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,927

    Default

    Then you don't have the power management hooks in your kernel, for whatever reason.

    Do you have the latest versions of other parts of the stack, like libdrm?

  2. #102
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Strange, I didn't have to do anything after a stock install besides installing a new kernel to get the power management working, on Ubuntu Lucid I installed kernel from here:

    http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa...-next/current/ (all 4 files per processor although I don't know if they all are necessary)

    and on Arch Linux a vanilla 2.6.35-rc6 from kernel.org.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42

    Default

    I'm curious whether current pm code does something on integrated cards, like mine 3200 HD? AFAIK memory clocks are fixed, so maybe some voltage drop or anything else? Difference between foss and fglrx is cca 8 watts with 2.6.32

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    You can adjust engine clock and voltage on IGP chips.

  5. #105

    Default

    Those were vanilla-sources using gentoo.

    Well i've to take a closer look if those patches are inside. For example the rework power management path (8/9) adds in Kconfig "depends on POWER_SUPPLY" which is not in my sources. But grepping after "PM_PROFILE_HIGH" or "DYNPM_ACTION_UPCLOCK" gives results.

    I hope to solve my screen corruptions and freezes, that i get everytime i have a high cpu load especially combined with watching videos (xv overlay). Screen Corruptions without kms and freezes with kms. I have my power supply (which is 460watt, 18A output on 12 Volt and a Radeon X1950) in closer consideration for beeing the source of these errors.

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    "POWER_SUPPLY" is for getting events when the system switches between battery and wall power. It has nothing to do with the power output of your power supply in your system.

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,425

    Default

    I think derdestiller was looking at his power supply to see if it had enough output to reliably drive the X1950. IIRC the X1950 system requirements call for >30A at +12.

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derdestiller View Post
    I can't seem to find power_method in my sysfs directory.
    Any idea what could be the reason?
    I have the same problem, it was there in 2.6.34, but not in 2.6.35...

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    I have the same problem, it was there in 2.6.34, but not in 2.6.35...
    The pm support was only added in 2.6.35, so you wouldn't have had those entries in 2.6.34 unless you we using some custom patches or something.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The pm support was only added in 2.6.35, so you wouldn't have had those entries in 2.6.34 unless you we using some custom patches or something.
    Doh! Sorry, my memory is foggy, it was /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info which went away between .34 and .35.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •