Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: LLVMpipe: OpenGL With Gallium3D on Your CPU

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    hey. I want to test llvmpipe but I got some errors when trying to compile with --enable-gallium-llvm. Anybody can confirm that ?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Does it work if you use scons instead? (Follow the instructions in the README in llvmpipe dir)

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by V!NCENT View Post
    Simple question: Good enough to run KDE 4.4 desktop effects with it on a Phenom 9950 X4 (not OC'd)?

    That is all I would like to have for now... And while I of course now do have mesa, how come Kwin does not want to run desktop effects? Wierd...
    I would be interested to know whether it can run GNOME Shell (which will not even run with the old MESA software rasteriser). The speed would also be interesting to see of course - as far as I can see, ninety percent of the time GNOME Shell is compositing 1:1 scaled face-on maps and rendering those 1:1 and face on - I can see at least some potential for optimising that in software rendering

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    291

    Default

    MESA-classic
    +-|04:33 PM|$|-> LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 openarena +exec anholt 2>&1 | egrep -e '[0-9]+ frames'
    840 frames 129.9 seconds 6.5 fps 102.0/154.7/409.0/36.5 ms
    R600
    +-|04:36 PM|$|-> openarena +exec anholt 2>&1 | egrep -e '[0-9]+ frames'
    840 frames 14.2 seconds 59.2 fps 4.0/16.9/108.0/4.6 ms
    MESA-llvmpipe
    +-|04:36 PM|$|-> LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 openarena +exec anholt 2>&1 | egrep -e '[0-9]+ frames'
    840 frames 45.1 seconds 18.6 fps 32.0/53.7/1479.0/21.4 ms


    Pretty impressive on the llvmpipe side amost a 3rd as fast as r600 is at the moment. Built on gentoo from git with llvm 2.7

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    620

    Talking

    It would be interesting to see benchmarks Intel Graphics vs llvmpipe.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    It would be interesting to see benchmarks Intel Graphics vs llvmpipe.
    Your wish is my command (at least when I'm bored).

    E8400 @ 3 GHz vs X4500HD:
    840 frames 53.5 seconds 15.7 fps 31.0/63.7/1382.0/19.5 ms

    840 frames 7.6 seconds 111.2 fps 3.0/9.0/264.0/15.0 ms

    llvm 2.6 here (on a shitty 3G connection so I don't wanna download big updates).

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    Your wish is my command (at least when I'm bored).

    E8400 @ 3 GHz vs X4500HD:
    840 frames 53.5 seconds 15.7 fps 31.0/63.7/1382.0/19.5 ms

    840 frames 7.6 seconds 111.2 fps 3.0/9.0/264.0/15.0 ms

    llvm 2.6 here (on a shitty 3G connection so I don't wanna download big updates).

    That doesn't seem right unless LLVM 2.6 makes that much difference or if there is that much difference between my gentoo and your ubuntu/debian? I mean I on an Athlon II M300 @ 2Ghz which shouldn't be a match for an E8400 which has much more cache and higher clock.

    Oh btw some quake based games (fakk2) are playable in wine here after making sure it uses 64bit mesa instead of the 32bit one that comes with the emul-libs

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    291

    Default

    apparently playable to me means 8 fps outdoors and 15ish indoors lol

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cb88 View Post
    That doesn't seem right unless LLVM 2.6 makes that much difference or if there is that much difference between my gentoo and your ubuntu/debian? I mean I on an Athlon II M300 @ 2Ghz which shouldn't be a match for an E8400 which has much more cache and higher clock.

    Oh btw some quake based games (fakk2) are playable in wine here after making sure it uses 64bit mesa instead of the 32bit one that comes with the emul-libs
    Could be because this is a 32bit system, apparently 64bit is preferred. Didn't know it could make such a big difference though.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Ah IC ... I wonder what the benchmarks are on systems with 128bit fpus ...mine is only 64bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •