Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: How to monitor the GPU temperature?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Well, I guess I'll try your patch after the rebase or wait for 2.6.36 before I take another look into it. Thanks for the info, it's much appreciated.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Any idea how to monitor the temperature of a RV570 (Asus EAX 1950 Pro)? I've had a look through the logs, but can't seem to find anything.

    http://pastebin.com/vUx352Nc

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    Any idea how to monitor the temperature of a RV570 (Asus EAX 1950 Pro)? I've had a look through the logs, but can't seem to find anything.

    http://pastebin.com/vUx352Nc
    For pre-rv6xx cards, assuming your card has a thermal sensor, grab a 2.6.35rc kernel and it should automatically load the hwmon driver for the i2c thermal chip used on your card. The temp info can be accessed via lm_sensors tools or via sysfs /sys/class/hwmon*.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Hmm, I'm not getting much of a difference on 2.6.35-rc3, can't find anything in the logs, no new modules are getting loaded, and there's nothing new in /sys/class/hwmon/

    I guess this card doesn't have a sensor?

    http://pastebin.com/njeTvyyv

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    Hmm, I'm not getting much of a difference on 2.6.35-rc3, can't find anything in the logs, no new modules are getting loaded, and there's nothing new in /sys/class/hwmon/

    I guess this card doesn't have a sensor?

    http://pastebin.com/njeTvyyv
    It doesn't appear to. It will print in the log what thermal chip is on board if there is one.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    I had a chance to try the same card on Windows, and it does have a thermal sensor (two in fact!). The application Everest reported them as National LM63 and Valterra VT1165 (ATI-I2C 4Ch, 70h).

    Is there anything else I can do to help get this working?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Do you have the lm63 driver loaded?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by monraaf View Post
    Do you have the lm63 driver loaded?
    Yes, no difference with our without having it loaded.


    Not sure if this output can be helpful?

    Code:
    # sensors-detect
    [...]
    Next adapter: Radeon i2c hw bus DVI (i2c-0)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): YES
    Client found at address 0x50
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 No
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'...                                Yes
        (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
    
    Next adapter: Radeon i2c hw bus DVI (i2c-1)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): YES
    Code:
    # i2cdetect 0
    WARNING! This program can confuse your I2C bus, cause data loss and worse!
    I will probe file /dev/i2c-0.
    I will probe address range 0x03-0x77.
    Continue? [Y/n] Y
         0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
    00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 37 -- -- 3a -- -- -- -- -- 
    40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    50: 50 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
    70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
    It looks like there should be three chips on that bus, but sensors-detect only finds the first one?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    The sensor is probably on a different i2c bus than the DDC i2c buses. If there's no thermal chip information in the vbios we don't add any additional i2c buses.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    I see, are there any plans to add support for these other buses in the future?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •