Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: catalyst 10.4 vs tuxonice

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    92

    Default catalyst 10.4 vs tuxonice

    Hi all

    This is a bit late, since 10.5 will arrive shortly I guess, but since I installed 10.4, hibernation no longer works for me.

    10.3, kernel 2.6.33 and X 1.6.5 suspended in about 50% of cases (I guess my extra page allowance was not high enough). However since I got 10.4 and 1.7 X I cannot hibernate the system at all while X is running. it hangs in first atomic copy.

    Anybody has working hibernation with 10.4 catalyst ? my GFX card is a HD3650 AGP.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haplo602 View Post
    Hi all

    This is a bit late, since 10.5 will arrive shortly I guess, but since I installed 10.4, hibernation no longer works for me.

    10.3, kernel 2.6.33 and X 1.6.5 suspended in about 50% of cases (I guess my extra page allowance was not high enough). However since I got 10.4 and 1.7 X I cannot hibernate the system at all while X is running. it hangs in first atomic copy.

    Anybody has working hibernation with 10.4 catalyst ? my GFX card is a HD3650 AGP.
    catalyst 10-5 chancelog:
    1.* SLED/SLES 11 SP1 support (early look)
    2.* Fixed the RedHat installer so that building packages in a directory path that contains spaces works
    3.* New OpenGL component version
    4.* Works on Ubuntu 10.04 again
    5.* Fixed Xserver 1.7 segfault during startup on some systems with a backtrace pointing to xf86HandleInt10Options
    6.* Disabled consumer card support for Eyefinity until QA verifies it
    7.* Fixed failure reported when trying to turn off discrete card on some PowerXpress AMD+AMD systems
    8.* Fixed CPU lockup on resume from S3/S4 on some systems
    9.* Fixed Xserver startup failure in certain Crossfire configurations
    10.* Assorted OpenGL fixes
    11.* Fixed incorrect display arrangement in big-desktop mode on RandR 1.1 OSes
    12.* OpenGL fixes for Unigine


    just wait 1-2 days

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I have fglrx + tuxonice working on archlinux perfectly. No jokes, this is first fglrx which I've ever used so long (since the day it was released).
    So far resume id 100% success either from S3 or S4.
    I had 2.6.33.2 kernel, now it is 2.6.33.4, xorg 1.7.6, ati 3650 discrete card in Lenovo T500 which has intel + amd switchable graphics.
    Kernel is custom compiled (added just TOI patch).
    So it IS working.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirurgs View Post
    I have fglrx + tuxonice working on archlinux perfectly. No jokes, this is first fglrx which I've ever used so long (since the day it was released).
    So far resume id 100% success either from S3 or S4.
    I had 2.6.33.2 kernel, now it is 2.6.33.4, xorg 1.7.6, ati 3650 discrete card in Lenovo T500 which has intel + amd switchable graphics.
    Kernel is custom compiled (added just TOI patch).
    So it IS working.
    I have ArchLinux on the laptop but my story is not that good than yours
    It is about 20% success resumes, rest resumes are not so successful. It resumes fine but shows me a cursor on the black screen(actually there isn't only the black screen and cursor, because I can unlock screen(still the black) type my password(it resumes to gnome lockscreen and doing some weird things)) and I need to switch to tty1-5 and restart gdm. This happens on both 2.6.33 and 2.6.34 kernels, both TOI git and 3.1 versions, xorg server 1.7 and 1.8. catalyst 10.4.

    Could you post your config files(/etc/hibernate/ and related) ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I'm not using hibernate script at all, pm-utils integrates wtih TOI very well... pm-utils integrates with gnome very well and it seems I have very good configuration
    Is that only catalyst gives you this error or opensource drivers as well?
    I remember when I had nvidia, it was real nightmare with hibernate

    Edit: All configs are default, no custom changes added...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Please post Xorg.0.log, everything.log file after unsucessful resume, there might be some clue in there.
    Have you customized xorg.conf?

    P.S. Damned one minute

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •