Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: stumped - xorg edgers + 2.6.35-rc1 DRI fail

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default stumped - xorg edgers + 2.6.35-rc1 DRI fail

    Hi all,

    On 10.4 with the latest xorg edgers updates (+ libdrm epoch bump fix) and latest ubuntu mainline (2.6.35-rc1) on my rv635 (Tosh_IEC_Potomac_M86_DDR2 M86 GDDR2_16Mx16 128bit 256MB 600e/500m); I seem to be booting into swrast mode. 2.6.34 mainline does not exhibit this problem, checking out the xorg.0.log shows:

    [ 26.161] (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI2 capable
    [ 26.161] (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable
    [ 26.255] (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib/dri/swrast_dri.so

    Has something broken DRI recently? (Firmware is definitely there)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,606

    Default

    Put dmesg output on boot and X.org log into pastebin or whatever and link to this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    38

    Default

    You just went to far with the "testing part" - that's all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,100

    Default

    Same here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    Put dmesg output on boot and X.org log into pastebin or whatever and link to this?
    xorg.0.log - http://pastebin.org/305908
    dmesg - http://pastebin.org/305912

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hmmm View Post
    radeon drm module isn't loaded.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Au
    Posts
    174

    Default

    cheers; working now - passing radeon.dynpm=1 at boot was stopping it from loading.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,606

    Default

    That's interesting. Maybe the radeon module should be made to rather ignore unknown options?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    338

    Default

    I have the same issue with drm-next and 2.6.35-rc1. If radeon.dynpm=1 is set the drm fails to load, bacause of "unknown option dynpm".
    I guess even if dynpm is on by default it still should not happen.

    2.6.34 works fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    The option was removed in 2.6.35 as the dynpm can now be dynamically set via sysfs. It's a general property of kernel modules to fail if an invalid option is provided; not something specific to radeon.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •