Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 46 of 46

Thread: A New Release Of The AMD XvBA Back-End To VA-API

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gbeauche View Post
    You will have to check your config log and see what FFmpeg is used.
    Which log are you referring to? Like I said, I only have one version of ffmpeg on my system and its the SVN version I built myself. When I ran ffmpeg's configure, it listed all the vaapi hwaccels as enabled (and I had libva-dev installed). I also built the mplayer-vaapi from your site and that works well, so I really don't know what else to look at.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by V!NCENT View Post
    Of course people 'need' this functionality because without it Linux isn't viable <_<'
    That's closer to the truth than "without 3D graphics support Linux isn't viable". More people watch videos with their computers than play 3D games. The number of gamers is totally insignificant in comparison. And it's certainly more true than "without desktop eyecandy Linux isn't viable" - nobody *needs* compiz or whatever. But a lot of people buy PCs with "HD" graphics cards thinking they'll be able to watch movies easily, and the lack of any acceleration support on Linux makes it *impossible* in some cases.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    Which log are you referring to? Like I said, I only have one version of ffmpeg on my system and its the SVN version I built myself. When I ran ffmpeg's configure, it listed all the vaapi hwaccels as enabled (and I had libva-dev installed). I also built the mplayer-vaapi from your site and that works well, so I really don't know what else to look at.
    Your configure log. i.e. config.log or the generated Makefile to know which FFmpeg is used. But now that you use a single FFmpeg, you can double check with ldd vaapidecode.so where the actual FFmpeg libraries are.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default xvba-video 0.7.2

    Hi,

    A new version of xvba-video, the XvBA backend to VA-API, is now available at:
    http://www.splitted-desktop.com/~gbe...ne/xvba-video/

    Version 0.7.2 - 13.Jul.2010
    * Require fglrx >= 8.73.2 (Catalyst 10.5)
    * Fix vaInitialize() return status if an error occurred
    * Fix regression when rendering subpictures in VA/GLX mode
    * Set VADisplayAttribDirectSurface to 1 in VA/GLX mode too

    The third change fixes a regression in mplayer and OSD rendering in GLX mode (-vo vaapi:gl). The last change is a workaround to a driver bug/regression/undocumented change. In practise, this fixes some tearing with mplayer -vo vaapi:gl, for me.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under a rock
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Just be patient or buy another card," Gwenolé added
    [p]Or, pay for an OS.

    Once again, this is not MS fanboy speaking but someone who is not pleased at all with the progress of ATI drivers in Linux. Please do not expect me to shell out $200 for ATI card that only uses 50% of the capabilities. Useless, absolutely useless.

    I still think AMD is getting paid by MS to reduce or drag their feet in the Linux environment. Linux had a great chance to take a dominant role in the personal OS space when Vista came out. But with W7, there are too many checks for than against using that OS.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,678

    Default

    ATI needs 1 month to provide a driver update that VLC 1.1.1 will be able to use. The question is: is VLC 1.1.1 delayed because of ATI 10-7 or vice versa? I would like to test it, but no hotfix driver is out - so even on win they are absolutely clueless. Btw. you could certainly test nightly builds of VLC when you would have got the driver...

    http://nightly.videolan.org/build/win32/?C=M;O=D

    branch is usually next 1.1.x, trunk is 1.2. i only use trunk on linux however.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •