Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Which power must be a cpu for HD 1080p?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    92

    Default Which power must be a cpu for HD 1080p?

    I would like known, in the eventuality is impossible use driver open for a fluent display of video hd 1080p, which power must be a cpu for this task.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Depends on the bitrate you want to decode and how good the codec can work multithreaded. mplayer default only uses 1 core, you would need the mt git branch. In general you should not buy cpus with less than 3 ghz dual (2.93 is also ok). A fast dual is certainly better than a lower clocked quad for simpler codecs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Thanks.

    What about a 17 Mbps as bitrate?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,932

    Default

    A Phenom II can play BluRay rips without any problems, even on a single core. It runs into trouble with some really heavy stuff (like the infamous birds sequence). If you get a multi-core mplayer, most modern dual-core processors will be fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Good.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    My Athlon II 235e (2.7 Ghz dual) handles 15-18 mbps 1080p video just fine. If you can use multithreading, a 605e (2.3 Ghz quad) will play more or less any video out there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Good.

    I have two old amd processor so i can see only 720p video (while 1080p,even local on hdd aren't perfect), when i play some video (i'm using debian squeeze 64 bit) and I take a look at top I don't see difference in the use of the processors between mplayer-mt and mplayer.
    I have something as:
    85 % first core
    25 % second core
    Is it normal?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    No, it isn't. Usually there should be a core which is slightly more used than the others (the one that also runs Xorg, for example) and the other more ore less similar. So, in your case, 55% and 45% would seem reasonable. Have you tried using ffplay directly? Just a thought.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Also (can't edit) I'm not sure whether mplayer-mt will automatically use all your cores. Maybe you have to tell it explicity.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    No it does not. My script has got some examples at the end:

    http://kanotix.com/files/fix/mplayer...t-snapshot.txt

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •